Databases by Subject: Tourism

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to the present, with full text from 1995 onwards.

A definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete offers indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. It also provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.

This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs, short films and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

Passport contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives you strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all your products across all your key countries. Passport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world.

ABI/INFORM Complete is ProQuest's premier business journals database and offers access to over 6,800 journals with over 5,510 of those available in full text ... ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprising ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Included in ABI/INFORM Complete is ABI/INFORM Archive ... This database contains complete runs of key business and management journals, providing a unique historical perspective on hundreds of topics, including corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, product development, and industry conditions worldwide.--Publisher description. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link: http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml

Database includes in-depth coverage for over 3,730 publications, with more than 2,670 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Included in ABI/INFORM Global is ABI/INFORM Archive. ABI/INFORM Global has expanded to include non-periodical content like: EIU ViewsWire -- Coverage of business and economic events from across the globe; ProQuest Business Dissertations -- Access to over 18,000 full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses; Business Cases - over 5,200 documents available in ABI/INFORM from the following publishers: Ivey, Thunderbird, Idea Group, and Darden, and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, with full-text access to the premier business newspaper in North America, with backfile c Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link: http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml

Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects include aboriginal rock art sites and historic buildings and structures. Inclusive coverage: 1987 - Oct 2012.

ANR-I, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-I archive for a comprehensive search.

ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index for a comprehensive search. Coverage: 1975 to 2007.

Indexes a wide range of material (e.g. government documents, journal and newspaper articles and conference papers) on Australian, New Zealand and Pacific tourism and related fields, including leisure, sport and recreation. Coverage: 1982 to June 2000.

Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport, including sports administration, children and sport, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000). Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes. Coverage: 1989 - August 2012.

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

Ebooks on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International. Access to ebooks for Monash University staff and students is to the end of 2021 only.

Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.

Portal to full text and/or bibliographic EBSCOhost databases (Monash University Library current subscriptions are displayed). Databases are sourced from leading information providers, and subject coverage is multi-disciplinary.

Database of mainly business, management, applied sciences and technology, information technology, and engineering journals, ebooks and case studies (with a European perspective). Full text articles are available for most titles from mid 1990's. Click on MyProducts to access Monash University Library subscribed content.

See: Academic OneFile

Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items").

The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica.

REEF, developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in association with CSIRO, is a bibliographic database indexing articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Subject coverage includes coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, fisheries, history, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, oceanography, reef walking, scuba diving, tourism and zoology. Source documents include books, maps, journal articles and audio visual material for both scholarly and popular audiences. Many of the records are of historical importance dating back to the 19th century.

A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries. Note: Starting April 2013 TV News content has changed:
- current News Bulletins are available for every state capital city from the ABC and SBS providers
- current Commercial News Bulletins are available for only one state capital city: Sydney