Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering village (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Includes literature across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, international development, oceanography and geomechanics. Includes: Compendex, INSPEC, Geobase and Georef.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a large collection of scientific literature. Includes the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and the Environmental Science index.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a large collection of scientific information including journal article, book chapters, encyclopedias and more.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scientific, technical, and social science literature. including peer-reviewed articles, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and web sources.
SDG online This link opens in a new window
Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection themed around the SDGs. The collection was created in partnership with United Nations.
Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Biological abstracts.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
Resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, The Cochrane Library, eEROS, SpecInfo and the Current Protocols series.
Environmental abstracts (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the EPA Victoria Library, EVA is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields to 2011.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet covers the world's mathematical literature. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are included.
CAB Direct This link opens in a new window
CAB Direct is a source of reference in the applied life sciences, including the Environmental Impact database.
Science and geography education (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Science And Geography Education (SAGE) includes popular journals with a focus on Australian content. The range of journals included, is determined by the needs of schools and public libraries.
AAPG/Datapages This link opens in a new window
This is the combined collections of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.
Australia's national geosciences, minerals and petroleum reference database (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Archive of geoscience literature written by Australian authors, to 2001.
Australia 1:1,000,000 topographic map series (Geoscience Australia) This link opens in a new window
Covers the whole of Australia at a scale of 1:1 million. Also includes links to maps of varying scale: 1:250,000; 1:100,000; 1:50,000.
GEOBASE (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains research literature across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, international development, oceanography and geomechanics. Updated weekly.
GeoRef (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences and includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Lyell collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of earth science literature; includes the Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Society's Memoir series, Special publications series, and the Engineering geology special publications series.
Paleobiology database This link opens in a new window
The Paleobiology Database provides researchers and the public with information about the entire fossil record.
Scitation This link opens in a new window
Scitation provides access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies including articles in geosciences, physics, chemistry and more.
There are numerous other databases which may be relevant to research.
CABI books This link opens in a new window
eBooks collection comprise: 1. Agriculture 2. Animal & veterinary sciences 3. Environmental sciences 4. Human health, food & nutrition 5. Leisure & tourism 6. Plant sciences. As of May 2009, there were over 420 titles.
EBSCOhost research databases This link opens in a new window
Portal to full text and/or bibliographic EBSCOhost databases (Monash University Library current subscriptions are displayed). Databases are sourced from leading information providers, and subject coverage is multi-disciplinary.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
See: Academic OneFile
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world.
Gale academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on sciences, podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, and the New York Times, the Times (London) and the Financial Times
Gale virtual reference library This link opens in a new window
See: Gale ebooks
Informit search This link opens in a new window
Include 22 collections of scientific literature with a focus on Australia. Includes EVA: environmental abstracts (to 2011), MEDGE: management and environment information (to 2006), and STREAMLINE: Australia's natural resources database (to 2004).
Invasive species compendium (via CABI) This link opens in a new window
The Invasive Species Compendium (ISC) is an encyclopaedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide.
JSTOR sustainability collection This link opens in a new window
Explore journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines.
Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world. This link opens in a new window
See: Access world news : research collection
OECD Library This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics, and is the gateway to OECDs analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010.
VicMap topographic maps series This link opens in a new window
Vicmap topographic maps cover the state of Victoria in a variety of scales and sizes. These maps depict cultural, constructed and natural features such as rivers, roads, contours, towns, national parks, waterfalls, hospitals and more .. they are created and maintained using Vicmap, Victoria's authoritative foundation datasets.
WATERnetBASE This link opens in a new window
eBooks and chapters in earth sciences, environment and sustainability, environment and agriculture and more.