Databases by Subject: Medicine

Users need to create a personal account
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.

CINAHL Complete indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology. CINAHL Complete includes 1,314 journals with searchable cited references.

The Cochrane Library, produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Cochrane Library is a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research.

A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. For a comprehensive search, simultaneously search All EBM Reviews: the CochraneDSR, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, (Cochrane methodology register, Health technology assessment, NHS economic evaluation database) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology. Embase adds over 1 million records annually.

If you have previously used the eTG app, please use this link to renew your token: https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=https://www.tg.org.au/tokens/

Therapeutic guidelines includes the latest version of all the topics published by Therapeutics Guidelines Limited. It provides access to therapeutic guidelines with instructions for therapy and practical treatment advice. Access to relevant PBS data including pregnancy and breastfeeding information ; Links to key references, full text articles and relevant Cochrane Library Reviews ; Links to other independent information ; Australian Prescriber (including Medicines Safety Update), NPS RADAR, NPS News and Clinical Evidence ; technical enhancements such as calculators for creatinine clearance and ideal body weight.

Searches only Informit full text databases
Provides access to specialised databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ...
Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.

Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

See: APA PsycInfo

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.

Monash University staff and students
This resource is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support database designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes; links to full text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and to a number of medical calculators. It is written, reviewed and continuously updated by physicians to ensure that the content remains current.

Online medical resource from McGraw-Hill that includes textbooks; a multimedia library of videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations; tools for differential diagnosis, quick reference; customizable patient education information; an integrated drug database; downloadable images; and a selection of cases.

A journal that comprises structured abstracts of original research articles and systematic reviews from over 100 clinical journals. Content of articles selected is based on explicit criteria, followed by an assessment of its relevance to medical practice.

On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. It covers the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
.

A bibliographic database of journal articles on allied and alternatives to conventional medicine. Subjects covered include: complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Australian Medicines Handbook's mission is to provide concise practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. The company is independent of both government and the pharmaceutical industry.

BioMed Central Ltd. provides free access to original peer-reviewed biomedical research. Publications include journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in biology and medicine are also included. Research materials added by Monash authors are now also available at the site.

Chemwatch is an online chemical management system that provides access to Safety Data Sheets (SDS) and allows areas to create their local chemical registers to help keep track of their chemical inventories. Users can also generate chemical labels and create custom mixtures.

CINAHL Plus provides indexing for over 4,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937.

A bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care. Through extensive handsearching and searching of databases such as Medline and EMBASE, the Cochrane Collaboration creates CENTRAL, providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practicing healthcare professionals, the target audience. The evidence is displayed in a user-friendly tabulated format that includes narratives, data, and links to graphics.

A good starting point for information on the effects of health care, particularly therapeutic interventions. Includes over 1,700 full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.

On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

A database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of health care and social interventions. The Cochrane Methodology Register contains over 9,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care. Includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts, and reports of ongoing methodological research. Records contain bibliographic information and, in many cases, a summary. Provided as part of the Cochrane library.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology.

Users need to request access using Monash email.
Note that it may breach Copyright Regulations or Database Licence Agreements to share full text material downloaded from Monash databases with Non-Monash colleagues or collaborators.

Covidence is a not-for-profit service working in partnership with Cochrane to improve the production and use of systematic reviews for health and wellbeing.

A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. For a comprehensive search, simultaneously search All EBM Reviews: the CochraneDSR, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, (Cochrane methodology register, Health technology assessment, NHS economic evaluation database) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Coverage from 1926-present.

Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the fields of health, psychology, psychosocial sciences, organisational behaviour and library and information science. Covers questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios and tests.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Database covers Australasian health information, providing full text access to core content from the region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. A significant proportion of the content is unavailable online elsewhere, and includes journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.

"The Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions)... Many different types of research are included in the HTA database, including systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations."--Database guide.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Features include: Instant streaming access to 10,000 programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functionality; No advertisements; Option to turn closed captions on and off; Free study guides.

Provides searchable online access to full text of journals published by Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., and selected ebooks.

LitMed is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities. The medical humanities is defined broadly to include an interdisciplinary field of humanities (literature, philosophy, ethics, history and religion), social science (anthropology, cultural studies, psychology, sociology), and the arts (literature, theater, film, multimedia and visual arts) and their application to healthcare education and practice.

Medical Evidence Matters is an EBM search tool that draws information from hundreds of peer-reviewed journals to help users choose the best therapy options for patients with confirmed diagnoses ... Results are organised into summary graphs and tables, helping the clinician assess the evidence and determine the best form of treatment. Results can be customized to allow you to assess alternative therapies, alternative patient characteristics (e.g. age, sex etc.), alternative treatment characteristics, and alternative research characteristics (e.g. type of research, place of research, quality of research etc.). You can also compare effectiveness of therapies based on a range of clinical outcomes.

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.--About page.

The platform provides an ever-growing electronic collection of relevant books, journals, conference proceedings, calls for papers and grey literature, and provides searchable access to ten major reference works published by the MIT Press; Over 530 MIT Press books in full-text PDF; the full text of six MIT Press journals; and abstracts from more than 25 journals from other publishers like Cambridge University Press, the British Psychological Society, Kingston Press, Ltd., and Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

The NHS Economic Evaluation Database contains over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

The NIOSH Web site features many different types of databases and information resources. They are categorized here by Chemical; Injury, Illness & Hazards Data and Information; Publications; Respirators and Other Personal Protective Equipment; Agriculture; and Construction. The most popular databases include the International Chemical Safety Cards, NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, and NIOSHTIC-2.

Website for PLoS (Public Library of Science), a non-profit, Open Access publisher committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Provides advice on preprints, open access publishing, open data, orcids, protocols, open science, and other useful information.

Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases.

Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml

RURAL, a bibliographic database produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, covered a range of areas including rural medical practices, indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, the practice and educational needs of health care providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. There is international coverage of journal articles, and some conference and discussion papers. Coverage: 1966 to December 2017.

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Links are made directly to relevant evidence-based material on the web, as well as to articles from peer-reviewed on-line journals and e-textbooks. It also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)

Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series. The major collections of the Wiley online library are: Journals, Journal backfiles, Online books and book series, Online reference works, Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, Current protocols laboratory manuals, Evidence-based medicine databases, and Chemistry databases.

Provides full text access to over one hundred journals published by World Scientitific.