Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Conditions of access
Monash alumni enjoy complimentary access to the following databases from 1 January 2020.
Alumni can only access databases via the links on Alumni Databases page. Entry can not be made from other pages on this site.
The Library has a new authentication service, OpenAthens. Before accessing your favourite database you will need to login using the 'Login to OpenAthens' button on Alumni Databases
These electronic resources are strictly available to the registered alumni library member for private educational purposes only. Your password is not transferable. The Library reserves the right to withdraw usage privileges if these conditions are not met. These resources will be available from most internet-enabled computers, but the Library cannot guarantee this in all circumstances due to security settings outside of our control.
Resources accessible to Monash Alumni
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
This database features the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). It represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London; however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Launched in the early 1970s, ABI/INFORM remains the gold standard when it comes to business research databases. ABI/INFORM Complete’s content set includes important full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. ABI/INFORM Complete includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. It also includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.
A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subject; intended primarily for academic researchers. It also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well and the New York Times from 1985, the Times (London) from 1985 and the Financial Times from 1996.
Accounting, tax & banking collection
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
Adam Matthew Digital (AM Explorer)
Adam Matthew Digital publishes digitised online primary source collections in the social sciences and humanities, from different historical eras. To search within or across specific collections licenced by Monash University Library select "use products held at my institution" from the drop down list.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970—offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states. Additional value has been by the expansion from the original 562 National Archives records to over 17,000, thus substantially improving access to over 138,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Some of the topics covered include the British capture of Jerusalem, the milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948, Jewish terror groups, the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, the Border wars of the 1950s, formation of the United Arab Republic, the Cold War in the Middle East and Black September.
AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Bibliographic database containing citations and selected abstracts for articles from over 400 Canadian business journals, including trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications. Includes full text for selected titles.
Career & Technical Education Database
ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Career and technical education
This database provides abstracts, indexes, and full text articles from 420 journals covering all aspects of vocational and technical education.
Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Biology
Full text available at Highwire Press Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press: 01/07/2009 to present
Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Medicine
Full text available at Highwire Press Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press from 2011
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques
Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 is a fully searchable database of over 22,000 British Government records or almost 180,000 images or pages taken from PRO class FO 371 in The National Archives at Kew. It provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary research resource, and allows this unique primary source material (predominantly in English, but containing some documents in a variety of Western European languages) to be quickly accessed by academics and students, writers and researchers.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
This database features more than 8,000 issues of The Economist since first publication in 1843. It delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. New fullcolour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreignlanguage title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesserknown authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.
Genes & Development
Full text available from HighWire Press: 01/03/1987 to present
Full text available from HighWire Press: 01/08/1995 to present
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
"The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives students and researchers unprecedented online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is fulltext searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations."
Iraq, 1914-1974: The Middle East Online, Series 2
Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers (over 68,650 pages or approximately 400 British government files on Iraqi affairs). It presents British government and diplomatic documents -- dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence and other primary source documents -- covering the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political history of Iraq in the 20th century, from the outbreak of World War I to the emergence of Saddam Hussein as a leading member of the revolutionary Ba'ath party in the 1970s. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life.
Learning & Memory
Full text available from HighWire Press: 01/05/1994 to present
Making of Modern Law
Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
Making of the Modern World
This database provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages allows researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport. It is derived from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University.
Nursing & allied health database
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more
This database comprises books, periodicals, and statistical databases issued by OECD. It covers many themes: agriculture and food; education and skills; emerging economics; employment; energy; enterprise, industry and trade; environment and sustainable development; finance and investment; general economics and future studies; goverance; international development; nuclear energy; science and information technology; social issues and migration; statistics sources and methods; taxation; territorial economy; transition economics; transport; etc. Users can build their own tables and export them to Excel and other formats.
Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. Post-War Europe contains newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars. These essays offer an insight into key themes and provide direct links to the documents mentioned and a means to access for students unfamiliar with the original materials. Five documentary British Pathe films provide visual evidence of key issues covered by the documents
Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
Available at Highwire Press Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press from 1995
Sage journals online
The SAGE Full-Text Collections are discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles.
Testaments to the Holocaust
This digital resource offers the unique resources of the World's oldest Holocaust museum, including documents and rare printed materials from the Wiener Library, London. Alfred Wiener fled Germany in 1933 and established his collection in London. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials in a uniquely flexible format, enabling detailed research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, propaganda, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life.
Times Digital Archive
Includes full page images and articles from The Times (London, England) and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register, from its first issue in 1785 to the end of December 1985. The archive also includes digital reproductions in downloadable PDF files. Keyword searching and hit-term highlighting can be used to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive
More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the Times Literary Supplement, a leading journal of the world's literary and cultural activity. Times Literary Supplement Subscriber Archive covers October 1994 onwards in full text
Wiley Online Library
Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series. The major collections of the Wiley online library are: Journals, Journal backfiles, Online books and book series, Online reference works, Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, Current protocols laboratory manuals, Evidence-based medicine databases, and Chemistry databases.
Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books