Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
e-Print service for research papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
Astrophysics data system This link opens in a new window
Digital library portal covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and general science, including all arXiv e-prints. Includes astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets hosted by external archives.
Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database for applied physics, computers and data processing, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, and engineering. Provides citations and abstracts from journal titles, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, engineering, electronics, communications, computers and computing, and information technology.
INSPIRE-HEP This link opens in a new window
Information platform for the high energy physics (HEP) scientific community, comprising 8 interlinked databases on literature, conferences, institutions, journals, researchers, experiments, jobs and data. Run in collaboration by CERN, DESY, Fermilan, IHEP, IN2P3 and SLAC.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Platform for scholarly literature with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books titles, major reference work series, historical journals prior to 1995, and a growing library of open access literature.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific and technical literature including journal and book titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, and quality web sources. Features smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Portal to Springer publications (and associated imprints such as Palgrave) including journals, books, protocols, and reference works with multidisciplinary subject coverage and an emphasis on the sciences, technology, and biomedical literature.
Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching and navigating the full citation network hosted on the WoS platform, including scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
Academic earth This link opens in a new window
The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface.
Australian nuclear science and technology information (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), this database contains bibliographical references to the Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development. Source documents include all relevant published and unpublished (technical and scientific reports, conference proceedings, theses, and so on) authored by Australians or published in Australia. Coverage: 1970 to 2015.
CSIRO Publishing. Journals This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text database of selected journal titles, presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists, and covering a broad range of subjects. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.
Emilio Segre visual archives This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 30,000 digital images, historical photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, drawings and other visual materials. The collection is richest in portraits and snapshots of modern American physicists, astronomers and geophysicists but includes many other scientists as well as photos and illustrations of laboratories, telescopes, accelerators and other instruments, objects and places. The archive focuses on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century, but includes many scientists in Europe and elsewhere, in other fields related to physics, and in earlier times.
Engineering village (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, Inspec, Referex Engineering, GEOBASE and GeoRef. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.
InCites This link opens in a new window
InCites is a customized, citation-based research evaluation tool on the Web. Its re-engineered research analytics platform offers a categorized suite of indicators so that users can now browse the full indicator library in a single location, and hand pick desired indicators for their targeted, customized reports. Users can also conduct in-depth analyses of their institution's role in research, as well as produce focused snapshots that showcase particular aspects of research performance. InCites gives a multifaceted view of: benchmarking and analytics, journal evaluation, highly cited research, custom data and reporting, and research lifecycle management, and also provides seamless access to Journal citation reports and Essential science indicators. It also fully integrates with Web of Science.
InCites. Journal citation reports. This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports presents quantitative data that supports a systematic, objective review of the worlds leading journals. Using a combination of impact and influence metrics, and millions of cited and citing journal data points that comprise the complete journal citation network, Journal Citation Reports provides the context to understand a journal's true place in the world of scholarly literature.This essential analysis tool summarizes citations from science and social science journals and proceedings in the Web of Science database. It delivers detailed reports of their citation performance, their citation network,and the count and type of materials published.
Informit Edu TV This link opens in a new window
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Content includes documentaries, drama and series from free to air TV channels and selected pay TV channels, complemented with study guides, and videos are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone. There is an archive of programs from 2006, with up to 80 new programs added weekly.
International tables for crystallography This link opens in a new window
The series comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Each volume also contains discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.
IOP ebooks This link opens in a new window
IOP ebooks collection brings together innovative digital publishing with leading authors from across the physical sciences. The collections have been created to meet the needs of students, early-career researchers and established leaders in the respective fields. IOP Publishing is central to the Institute of Physics (IOP), a not-for-profit society.
IOPScience journals This link opens in a new window
IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content. This site provides access to journals hosted on the site arranged alphabetically for current journals, publishing partners and archived titles. The IOP Journal Archive has over 206,000 articles published between 1874-2002; and the IOP current journal collection of over 100 titles has articles published from 2003 to the present.
Knovel library This link opens in a new window
This is an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE. It includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings. It is designed to help engineers solve complex problems efficiently.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.
MRS online proceedings library archive This link opens in a new window
The MRS (Materials Research Society) Online Proceedings Library Archive includes more than 100,000 peer-reviewed papers published between 1980 and 2015. Available on the Cambridge Core platform, the archive is fully searchable by author name, paper title, volume number and keyword.
Optics imagebank This link opens in a new window
Optics imagebank is an interactive way to browse and search images in Optics InfoBase. Browse and search more than 1 million images from OSA’s core journals hosted on OSA’s Digital Library. OSA will continue to upload images as soon as new articles are published. The Optics ImageBank not only allows images to be downloaded easily from within each article, it also provides users with the capability to search across related images appearing in other OSA journal articles from 2006 to today, and enables users to quickly and easily import images and the associated citations into PowerPoint or PDF.
OSA Publishing This link opens in a new window
This site is the Optical Society of America's (OSA)'s web portal for OSA flagship journals, and for partnered and co-published journals. It also contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences. Additionally, there is a digital archive providing users with access to PDFs of ground breaking optics and photonics research published over the last nearly 105 years.
Scitation This link opens in a new window
Scitation is a leading online publishing platform for the American Institute of Physics (AIP), which hosts news, comment, analysis and research in the physical sciences. It contains over two million articles in fields that include physics, chemistry geosciences, engineering, acoustics and more, and provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the AIP, and its member societies. Scitation also hosts more than 30 scholarly publishers, and its wide variety of content includes hundreds of journals, thousands of conference proceedings, as well as ebooks, standards, patents, databases, and magazines.
SPIE digital library This link opens in a new window
The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive resource for optics and photonics information, providing access to more than 500,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings, and nearly 400 eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers and 25 eBooks are added annually.
SpringerMaterials : the Landolt-Börnstein database This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a database on thermophysical properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a database on inorganic solid phases and chemical safety data. It is described by Springer as the world's largest resource for physical & chemical data in materials science with over 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties and over 1,200,000 literature citations.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks.
World Scientific journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over one hundred journals published by World Scientific.