Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)
Access Engineering: see AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is a redesign of the premiere online engineering resource, formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. AccessEngineering features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available.
American elements This link opens in a new window
This company site includes detailed descriptions of a wide range of advanced and engineered materials including properties, safety information, applications and manufacture, particularly for academic research and laboratories. A periodic table diagram can be clicked on to find elements or they can be browsed alphabetically. There is also detailed information on fuel cells, nanotechnology, crystal growth, coatings and solar energy. Details of services offered by the company are provided.
Australian nuclear science and technology information (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), this database contains bibliographical references to the Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development. Source documents include all relevant published and unpublished (technical and scientific reports, conference proceedings, theses, and so on) authored by Australians or published in Australia. Coverage: 1970 to 2015.
CHEMnetBASE : chemical databases online. This link opens in a new window
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of chemistry databases including Polymers : a property database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and the CRC handbook of Chemistry and Physics. It also has several chemical dictionaries, in print published by Chapman & Hall/CR, structured as searchable databases.
Chemical engineering reference user bibliography (Informit) This link opens in a new window
CHERUB is a bibliographic database that indexes articles taken from journals on all chemical engineering topics.
Crude oil assay database (Knovel) This link opens in a new window
Knovel's Crude Oil Assay Database is a unique, interactive compilation of key physical and chemical properties for over 200 crude oils commonly available on the world market. The data compiled in the database were sourced directly from seven crude producers and government agencies, and this data set includes over 2300 data records covering composition, key properties, kinematic viscosity, hydrocarbon composition, distillation, thermal properties and fuel indices.
Australian engineering database (Informit) This link opens in a new window
ENGINE, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering and in particular the publications of the Institution since 1980. It provides access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers.
Engineering village (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, Inspec, Referex Engineering, GEOBASE and GeoRef. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.
InCites This link opens in a new window
All users must register first by selecting "Register" link under "Sign In" .
InCites is a customized, citation-based research evaluation tool on the Web. Its re-engineered research analytics platform offers a categorized suite of indicators so that users can now browse the full indicator library in a single location, and hand pick desired indicators for their targeted, customized reports. Users can also conduct in-depth analyses of their institution's role in research, as well as produce focused snapshots that showcase particular aspects of research performance. InCites gives a multifaceted view of: benchmarking and analytics, journal evaluation, highly cited research, custom data and reporting, and research lifecycle management, and also provides seamless access to Journal citation reports and Essential science indicators. It also fully integrates with Web of Science.
Essential science indicators This link opens in a new window
InCites: Essential science indicators can determine the influential individuals, institutions, papers, publications, and countries in a field of study--as well as emerging research areas that could impact your work. Conduct ongoing, quantitative analyses of research performance and trends in science. Rank top scientists,institutions, countries, and journals in 22 specific fields of research in science performance statistics and science trends based on journal article publication counts and citation data. Essential Science Indicators is the ideal resource for conducting complex analyses of scientific literature so you can easily discover the information you need to: analyze research performance of companies, institutions, nations, and journal; identify significant trends in the sciences and social sciences; rank top countries, journals, scientists, papers, and institutions by field of research; determine research output and impact in specific fields of research.
InCites. Journal citation reports. This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports presents quantitative data that supports a systematic, objective review of the worlds leading journals. Using a combination of impact and influence metrics, and millions of cited and citing journal data points that comprise the complete journal citation network, Journal Citation Reports provides the context to understand a journal's true place in the world of scholarly literature.This essential analysis tool summarizes citations from science and social science journals and proceedings in the Web of Science database. It delivers detailed reports of their citation performance, their citation network,and the count and type of materials published.
Informit Edu TV This link opens in a new window
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Features include: Instant streaming access to 10,000 programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functionality; No advertisements; Option to turn closed captions on and off; Free study guides.
Knovel library This link opens in a new window
This is an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE. It includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings. It is designed to help engineers solve complex problems efficiently.
MRS online proceedings library archive This link opens in a new window
The MRS (Materials Research Society) Online Proceedings Library Archive includes more than 100,000 peer-reviewed papers published between 1980 and 2015. Available on the Cambridge Core platform, the archive is fully searchable by author name, paper title, volume number and keyword.
MSDS Australia This link opens in a new window
See: WHS monitor
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is a comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses from around the world. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Spectral database for organic compounds : SDBS. This link opens in a new window
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
SciELO citation index This link opens in a new window
SciELO Citation Index is a database index of open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects covered include: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is a program of the Sao Paulo Research Foundation for the cooperative publishing of open access journals on the Internet. It is supported by the National Council of Scientific and Technological Development and is a partnership with the Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information. SciELO content includes regional journals from Latin American and the Caribbean as well as titles from Spain, Portugal and South Africa.