Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database is a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, and offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today. It is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
AustLII This link opens in a new window
Provides full text searching of publicly available Australian primary legal materials such as Commonwealth and state consolidated acts and regulations, treaties and decisions of federal and state courts and tribunals. Extensive secondary legal materials such as law reform and royal commission reports, etc. are also included. Includes extensive links to other Australasian, Asian and international legal resources on the Internet.
AustLit : the resource for Australian literature This link opens in a new window
AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet This link opens in a new window
The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is a website which makes published, unpublished and specially-developed material about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health freely accessible to people involved in the area of Indigenous health. Key resources include: Bibliography, Health promotion resources, Yarning places, AIH e-message sheet, Programs and projects, Organisations, Conferences & workshops, Courses and training, Funding opportunities, and Job opportunites.
Early experiences in Australasia : primary sources and personal narratives, 1788-1901. This link opens in a new window
Database provides a unique and personal view of events in the region from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century. Documents include first-person accounts, letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials.
Far North Queensland collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database covers the geographical region of Far North Queensland. Source documents include books, magazines, articles, videos, pamphlets, brochures, reports, submissions, newspapers, tapes and posters. Coverage: 1994 to 1999.
Indigenous Australia (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ASTIC) Library. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, booklets and ephemera, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, and theses and videos. Covers Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander studies, stolen generation, removal of children, arts, copyright issues, racism, discrimination, and communities. Covers the period from 1968 to Dec. 2002.
Indigenous collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. The multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, etc. It covers the period from 1977 to present both for full text publications and index.
Mura / AIATSIS collections catalogue This link opens in a new window
Mura, the Aiatsis Library catalogue, includes bibliographic details of all Library materials. The Library contains comprehensive collections of print materials on Australian Indigenous studies. The Library's collections include manuscript materials, serials, language materials, books, rare books, art catalogues, newspapers, maps, posters and kits. The AIATSIS Audiovisual Archives hold film, video, recorded sound and pictorial materials.
Native title infoBase This link opens in a new window
This database, from the Federal Court of Australia, contains Australian material relating to native title and land claims including journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, reports and press clippings. This collection began in the 1990s, although some material dates back to 1839. It also includes selected material from other jurisdictions including New Zealand, the United States, Canada, Africa and Asia.
Use LIt.search from the Lowitja Institute for easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander literature in PubMed.
CINAHL plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus, an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, provides indexing for 1,000s of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health (17 allied health disciplines in all) with indexing back to 1937. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library, produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Cochrane Library is a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research.
Informit search This link opens in a new window
Searches only Informit full text databases
Provides access to specialised databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ...
Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
See: APA PsycInfo
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
Indigenous Health Journals
Streamed videos and TV programs
InformitEduTV - Indigenous Studies
Streamed TV programs in the area of Indigenous studies.
Kanopy - Indigenous Studies
Streamed videos in Global Studies & Languages and Indigenous Studies.
Kanopy - The AIATSIS Ethnographic Collection
The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) is the world's premier institute for information and research about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, past and present. The Institute undertakes and encourages scholarly, ethical community-based research, holds a priceless collection of films, photographs, video and audio recordings and the world's largest collections of printed and other resource materials for Indigenous Studies, and has its own publishing house. Its activities affirm and raise awareness among all Australians, and people of other nations, of the richness and diversity of Australian Indigenous cultures and histories.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world. This link opens in a new window
See: Access world news : research collection