Databases by Subject: Social work

AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. It covers the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.

The Informit Policy Database was prepared in partnership with the Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) at Swinburne University and is an open access knowledge hub delivering policy and practice research and resources. With over 40,000 resources, it includes grey literature reports, articles and data; and offers a wealth of material in a range of formats. These include video, infographics, guides and website listings. APO's collaborative knowledge infrastructure enables partners from universities and organisations across Australia, New Zealand and beyond to contribute to its extensive assets. Coverage: 1968 to present

This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology, including corrections, crime prevention, criminal law, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime.

Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts content on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families from 1980 onwards. FAMILY database contains published and unpublished materials on a wide range of topics including child development and psychology; family dynamics and parenting; child abuse prevention, and sociocultural aspects of Australian life. The collection features a large amount of ‘grey literature’.

This comprehensive full text database from Ebsco covers: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.

"Covers [mainly Australian content on] family, marriage, women; culture and institutions, private, civil and family law; social services and public welfare. Content includes peer-reviewed journals from government and specialist associations tackling modern debates on topics including non-traditional families, parenting, marriage, divorce, division of labour, working mothers, birth rates and ageing ... Content providers include the Australian Institute of Family Studies, Australian Council of Social Service, Association of Children's Welfare Agencies, Australian Population Association and the University of New South Wales Faculty of Law ... replaces Family & Society Plus database, which ceased on 31st December 2010."--Publisher description.

Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Coverage: 1988 to present

Overton is a comprehensive collection of global policy documents, parliamentary transcripts, government guidance and think tank research. The connections between these documents and scholarly research and the news media are mapped, giving insight into the evidence and influences that are shaping the world around us.

PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals.

Portal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which provides access to thousands of e-books and journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science from well known publishers such as Routledge, CRC Press, Chapman and Hall, Ashgate, Psychology Press, Longman and Heinemann. Searches can be filtered to Library subscribed content only. The site also hosts a growing collection of Open Access content.

This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.