Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News articles can be a good source of information on recent events, policies, developments and their impact on the local populations, public perceptions and responses. However newspapers are not acceptable academic sources unless as objects of research.
Australian Public Affairs (APAFT) : full text
Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books.
"Big Ideas is a screen space for intellectual, political, cultural and economic debate in Australia. Big Ideas broadcasts an eclectic and provocative selection of the most interesting, challenging and diverse talks events - everywhere from major writers festivals to tiny inner-city bookshops, to universities and institutes across Australia."--About. All material (digital video and audio files) is taken from: several TV shows a week on ABC1 and ABC News 24, hosted by Waleed Aly. On ABC1 every Tuesday at 11am for shortcuts of the best talks of the week, and Wednesdays at 11am on ABC1 for talks in full. Also on ABC News 24, Saturday at 10.30pm and Sunday at 9.30pm. Additionally on Radio National, on Sundays at 5pm and on Thursdays at 6pm.
Canadian Newsstand complete
Canadian Newsstand offers ... access to the full text of nearly 300 newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s. Canadian Newsstand content is updated daily so researchers always have timely access to new information.--About page.
Factiva provides access to full text coverage of Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
LexisNexis capital monitor
"Capital Monitor provides parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information to its subscribers almost as soon as it is available. The team are located in the Press Gallery within Parliament House in Canberra where they filter news and information before distributing it by e-mail to subscribers according to their monitoring briefs. All content is updated on Capital Monitor's comprehensive database which allows you to conduct keyword search anytime, on any jurisdiction and for content from 1996 onwards."--LexisNexis.
Complete full-text content of Mainichi shimbun, one of the major Japanese newspapers. Covers Mainichi shimbun from 1872 onwards, Journal Shukan ekonomisuto from 1989 onwards, Mainichi daily news (in English) from 2008 onwards, Mainichi yoron sachi, 20-seiki daijiken, Mainichi shimbun shashi etc. One access only.
ProQuest central is an aggregated full-text database, and provides access to more than 11,000 publications contained in the 20+ databases which comprise ProQuest central. More than 8,000 of the publications are available in full text.
ProQuest Newsstand offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.--About page.
Russian central newspapers (UDB-COM)
"The Universal Database of Russian Newspapers (UDB-COM) provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Several English-language newspapers including the notable Moscow Times, widely read by the international community in the Russian capital, constitute an important part of the database.'--Publisher description.
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.
- current News Bulletins are available for every state capital city from the ABC and SBS providers
- current Commercial News Bulletins are available for only one state capital city: Sydney
Ukrainian publications (UDB-UKR)
"Content from Ukraine's leading periodicals, covering a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs, some with archives from 1997. Titles and back issues are added on a regular basis. Includes publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian Book Chamber's editions, which list everything published in Ukraine with detailed bibliographic description."--Publisher description.
Web of science. Current contents connect
Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials.
Historical and archival newspapers, news services
Burney newspapers collection
Features the newspapers and news pamphlets collected by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). Represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London; however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
African newspapers : from the World newspaper archive in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries.
provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe, African Newspapers offers unparalleled coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922. This collection includes such key publications as the East African Standard, Mombasa Times & Uganda Argus (Kenya), Leselinyana la Lesutho (Lesotho), Central African Times (Malawi), Beira Post (Mozambique), Lagos Standard (Nigeria), Mafeking Mail and Protectorate Guardian (South Africa), Sierra Leone Weekly News (Sierra Leone), Uganda Herald (Uganda), Buluwayo Chronicle (Zimbabwe) and nearly two dozen others.
Chronology of Australian historic and current events (AUSCHRON)
provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current events, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. Source documents for current events include main state and territory papers, chiefly "The Age" and "The Australian" and national news journals, reports and other publications. For historical events source documents include contemporary records such as explorer's journals and newspapers, books and journal articles. Subject coverage includes Australian historical events in all subject areas with reference to significant current events from 1993 to the present. Historical dates deal with events from earliest Dutch discoveries to the end of 1992.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports. Asia & Pacific, East Asia
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Topics range from political, military and social issues, to economics, science and technology. This database covers: Asia and the Pacific, and East Asia, 1974-1996.
Provides cross-searching Gale's range of historical newspapers and collections subscribed to by Monash including: 17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers, and the historial archives of the Daily Mail, Economist, Listener , Illustrated London News, Sunday Times, the Times, and the Times Literary Supplement.
ProQuest historical newspapers. New York Times (1851-2014)
Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2014. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.The database covers a span of issues currently not covered by any other electronic resource.
South Asian newspapers
"South Asian Newspapers features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka) ... The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922."--Center for Research Libraries.
Times digital archive, 1785-2012
Includes full page images and articles from The Times (London, England) and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register, from its first issue in 1785 to 2012. The archive also includes digital reproductions in downloadable PDF files. Keyword searching and hit-term highlighting can be used to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Trove : one search .. a wealth of information.
Trove is a new discovery experience focused on Australia and Australians. Trove provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere. Metadata (information about items) is pooled from Australian sources including: The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.
Indexes (limited or no full-text)
Media scan (MEDIASCAN)
Indexes articles from daily newspapers, and is specifically designed for students and researchers in Australian secondary schools, TAFE institutes and universities. The following newspapers are indexed: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), West Australian (1996-1997). Ceased updating in June 2009.