Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.
This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, Inspec, Referex Engineering, GEOBASE and GeoRef. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
Access Engineering: see AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available.
Agriculture and natural resources research (ANR-I)
ANR-I, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-I archive for a comprehensive search.
Agriculture and natural resources index archive (ANR-IA)
ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Index for a comprehensive search. Coverage: 1975 to 2007.
Australian nuclear science and technology information (ANSTI)
The Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information (ANSTI) database, compiled by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), contains bibliographical references to the Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications. Source documents include all relevant published and unpublished (technical and scientific reports, conference proceedings, theses, and so on) authored by Australians or published in Australia. Coverage: 1970 to 2015.
Australian architecture database (ARCH)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from material held by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council. Source documents include journal articles, exhibition reviews, editorials, conference proceedings, news items, project articles and award features.
ASCE library : American Society of Civil Engineers research library
Comprehensive online database for locating journal articles of interest, and conference proceedings, across all disciplines of civil engineering. The ASCE library includes ASCE conference proceedings beginning in 1998, and all ASCE journal and periodical volumes published since 1995.
Australian transport index (ATRI)
The Australian Transport Index (ATRI), produced by ARRB Group Ltd, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished Australian material on transport, incorporating the catalogue of the M G Lay Library at ARRB Group. Documents indexed include all ARRB Group and Austroads publications.
Australian wetlands database
You can find information on Australia's Ramsar sites, wetlands of international importance and nationally important wetlands listed in A Directory of Important Wetlands in Australia (3rd ed., 2001)
Aviation accident database & synopses
This searchable database contains information about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters. Generally, a preliminary report is available within a few days of an accident. Factual information is added when available, and when the investigation is completed, the preliminary report is replaced by a final description of the accident and its probable cause. Full narrative descriptions may not be available before 1993. The database can be searched by date, location, type of aircraft, airline, etc.
Australian building, construction, and engineering database (BUILD)
BUILD indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on worldwide information in the building, construction and engineering fields from 1989 to February 2002. Source documents include conference papers, journal articles, standards, building regulations, technical papers, reports and books. Subject coverage includes all aspects of building, construction and engineering, structural engineering, building regulations, urban and regional planning and fire technology. Aspects of economics, administration and management, and information technology related to building and construction are also included. Coverage: 1989 to 2002.
Web of science. Current contents connect
Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials.
Australian index to journals dealing with management, environmental packaging and building topics. Ceased updating in May 2007.
Australian engineering database (ENGINE)
ENGINE, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering and in particular the publications of the Institution since 1980. It provides access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. It covers all branches of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, geotechnical, ocean and military.
Covers all broad engineering fields, including Civil engineering, Engineering of railroads & roads, Mining & related operations, and Sanitary & municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas. The Engineering Collection provides access to full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia.
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 90,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
ICE virtual library. Books
"Thomas Telford Books is one of the leading providers of authoritative and comprehensive information for professionals and academics in civil engineering and construction world-wide. Our publications include multi-author reference works, state-of-the-art reports, technical books, conference proceedings and contract documents."--Publisher description.
ICE virtual library. Journals
"Covering every major civil and structural engineering discipline, ICE journals are a comprehensive source of expertise for everyone in civil engineering."--Publisher description.
Informit Edu TV
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Features include: Instant streaming access to 10,000 programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functionality; No advertisements; Option to turn closed captions on and off; Free study guides.
Knovel provides access to over 2500 professional handbooks, conferences proceedings, and materials databases from leading publishers and professional societies ... like AIAA, AIChE, ASME, IEEE, Earthscan, Elsevier, McGraw-Hill, NACE TMS, and Wiley. The content covers subject areas in the fields of chemistry and the life sciences, materials and engineering. The collection is continually expanding.
MRS online proceedings library archive
Collection of online proceedings papers from MRS meetings, searchable by author name, paper title, volume number and keyword.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format ...The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Scitation is a leading online publishing platform for science and technology content, hosting over two million articles in fields that include physics, chemistry geosciences, engineering, acoustics and more. Provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies. Scitation is home to more than 30 scholarly publishers, and its wide variety of content includes hundreds of journals, thousands of conference proceedings, as well as ebooks, standards, patents, databases, and magazines.
Springer Materials: see SpringerMaterials : the Landolt-Börnstein database
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. "The World's Largest Resource for Physical & Chemical Data in Materials Science: 250,000 Substances & Material Systems; 3,000 Properties; 1,200,000 Literature Citations"--Home page.
TRID : the TRIS and ITRD database
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Victorian Primary Industries and Environment (Library) catalogue (ELIXIR).
Victorian Primary Industries and Environment (Library) Catalogue (VPI&E Catalogue), produced by the Knowledge and Information Branch of the Victorian Department of Primary Industries, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, maps, manuscripts and pictorial matter in the Knowledge Resource Centre at Werribee and small regional collections of the Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment. Includes some historical materials from 1853. The libraries hold specialist collections in ecology, conservation, forestry, national parks, soil conservation, botany, horticulture, land use and management, water management, pest plant and animal control, geology, aquaculture, fisheries, and marine studies.
WATERnetBASE offers a complete resource for environmentalists, agriculturists, and engineers, including the methods, data, and innovations critical to understanding and advancing new directions in water science and engineering.
Web of science core collection
Web of Science core collection includes: 1. Science citation index expanded (1900- present); 2. Social sciences citation index (1900 to present); 3. Arts & humanities citation index (1975 to present); 4. Conference proceedings citation index- Science (1990 to present); 5. Conference proceedings citation index - Social science & humanities (1990 to present); 6. Book citation index - science (2005 to present); 7. Book citation index - Social sciences & humanities (2005 to present); 8. Current chemical reactions (1985 to present); Index Chemicus (1993 to present).
Web of Science Core Collection provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.