Subject guides: Databases by Subject: Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences

Key databases

Other useful guides

Related sites

Key databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology. CINAHL Complete includes 1,314 journals with searchable cited references.
Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library, produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Cochrane Library is a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.

Key journals

Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences
The Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences (JMIRS) is the official bilingual, peer-reviewed journal of the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) and international associations across four continents, including the Hong Kong Radiographers Association (HKRA); Portuguese Association of Nuclear Medicine Technologists (APTMN); Alliance In Nuclear Scintigraphy (RAINS) in Australia; and Society of Medical Radiographers - Malta. Our publications represent rigorous methodology mandated by international standardized guidelines, providing point-of-care clinicians, managers, educators and trainees with research articles, systematic reviews, clinical and education perspectives and commentaries. We aim to influence practice within the rapidly evolving fields of radiological, nuclear medicine, MRI and ultrasound technologists and radiation therapists, grounded in our circular tagline, "research informing practice - informing research". JMIRS provides an essential platform for Canadian and international medical radiation technologists and therapists to publish and discover their own body of knowledge to define and inform their practice, enabling translation to a global audience.
Journal of Medical Radiation Sciences
Journal of Medical Radiation Sciences (JMRS) is an international and multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that accepts manuscripts related to medical imaging / diagnostic radiography, radiation therapy, nuclear medicine, medical ultrasound / sonography, and the complementary disciplines of medical physics, radiology, radiation oncology, nursing, psychology and sociology. Manuscripts may take the form of: original articles, review articles, commentary articles, technical evaluations, case series and case studies. JMRS promotes excellence in international medical radiation science by the publication of contemporary and advanced research that encourages the adoption of the best clinical, scientific and educational practices in international communities. JMRS is the official professional journal of the Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (ASMIRT) and the New Zealand Institute of Medical Radiation Technology (NZIMRT).
British Journal of Radiology
BJR is the international research journal of the British Institute of Radiology and is the oldest scientific journal in the field of radiology and related sciences. Dating back to 1896, BJR’s history is radiology’s history, and the journal has featured some landmark papers such as the first description of CT "Computerized transverse axial tomography" by Godfrey Hounsfield in 1973. A valuable historical resource, the complete BJR archive has been digitized from 1896. BJR is an international, multi-disciplinary journal covering the clinical and technical aspects of medical imaging, radiotherapy, oncology, medical physics, radiobiology and the underpinning sciences. BJR is essential reading for radiologists, medical physicists, radiation oncologists, radiotherapists, radiographers and radiobiologists.

Databases by Subject: Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences

Contents

Other useful guides

Related sites

Key databases

Key journals