Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biological abstracts [via Ovid]
8 concurrent users only
Biological Abstracts encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More than 6.500 serials are monitored for inclusion. The database also includes short communications such as technical notes and letters. Abstracts are provided for full-length articles.
BIOSIS previews [via Web of science]
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents.
1926 to present.
CAB abstracts [via Ovid]
CAB ABSTRACTS [via Ovid] is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Over three million records have been added to the database since its computerization in 1973.
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
The Clinical Queries service provides built-in search filters that retrieve human clinical research studies on diagnosis, aetiology, therapy or prognosis, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PubMed also links to a number of other National Library of Medicine (NLM) resources including molecular modelling and genetics resources, consumer health information, clinical trials database and the TOXNET cluster of databases.
Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
Web of science core collection
Web of Science core collection includes: 1. Science citation index expanded (1900- present); 2. Social sciences citation index (1900 to present); 3. Arts & humanities citation index (1975 to present); 4. Conference proceedings citation index- Science (1990 to present); 5. Conference proceedings citation index - Social science & humanities (1990 to present); 6. Book citation index - science (2005 to present); 7. Book citation index - Social sciences & humanities (2005 to present); 8. Current chemical reactions (1985 to present); Index Chemicus (1993 to present).
Web of Science Core Collection provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
Agriculture and natural resources research (ANR-I)
ANR-I, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-I archive for a comprehensive search.
Australia's natural resources database (ANR-R)
Australia's Natural Resources Database (formerly STREAMLINE) covers sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources. Archived index coverage 1982-2004.
Agriculture and natural resources research archive (ANR-RA)
ANR-RA (formerly known as CARRP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a research in progress database that contains completed research projects from the ANR-Research database, across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-Research to access past and present research projects.
Biological science database
Formerly: Biology database.
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Birds of the world
Birds of the World, a powerful new resource that brings together scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology--Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds (originally published by the Cornell Lab) with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World (originally published by Lynx Edicions)--into one rich and colorful hub where you can find comprehensive, authoritative information on birds. Includes integration of millions of bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library, as well as photographs detailing plumages, geographic variation, and behavior; an expanding video gallery showcasing courtship, breeding, foraging, and other behaviors; and in-depth audio recordings of songs, calls, and non-vocal sounds.
Crop protection compendium
The Crop Protection Compendium (CPC) is an encyclopaedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information on all aspects of crop protection. It comprises detailed datasheets on pests, diseases, weeds, host crops and natural enemies that have been sourced from experts, edited by an independent scientific organization, and enhanced with data from specialist organizations, images, maps, a bibliographic database and full text articles. New datasheets and datasets continue to be added, datasheets are reviewed and updated, and search and analysis tools are being built.
Threatened species in Australia : a select bibliography (ENDANGER)
Threatened Species in Australia : A Select Bibliography (ENDANGER), produced by Deakin University School of Aquatic Sciences & Natural Resources Management, is a bibliographic database indexing published and unpublished material on Australian threatened flora and fauna and related topics. A few key references on the general theme of threatened species are also listed. Most of the source documents which include books, chapters in books, journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, theses, and some non-book material (video, charts, posters etc) are published in Australia. Coverage: 1960 to 2016.
Environmental Impact is an internet resource created in response to a demand from the scientific community, policy makers and information specialists for a single comprehensive bibliographic information resource on human influences on the biosphere, including pollution, deforestation, desertification and habitat loss, and climate change ... It contains bibliographic records on environmental issues from CABIs leading databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health, from 1910 to the present, and access to over 1.7 million abstracts, more than 44,000 full text documents, news articles, book chapters and CAB Reviews
Environmental impact statements : digests.
This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the United States government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.
Environmental abstracts (EVA)
EVA (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Source documents are selected journal articles from approximately 600 journals published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. Pre-February 1998 data includes planning, heritage, urban design and town planning subject coverage. Coverage: 1987 to October 2011.
JSTOR global plants
JSTOR global plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.
JSTOR sustainability collection
Explore journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines.
Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
Great Barrier Reef marine park province database (REEF)
REEF, developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in association with CSIRO, is a bibliographic database indexing articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Subject coverage includes coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, fisheries, history, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, oceanography, reef walking, scuba diving, tourism and zoology. Source documents include books, maps, journal articles and audio visual material for both scholarly and popular audiences. Many of the records are of historical importance dating back to the 19th century.
TAIR, the Arabidopsis information resource
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) provides a comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes.
Victorian Primary Industries and Environment (Library) catalogue (ELIXIR).
Victorian Primary Industries and Environment (Library) Catalogue (VPI&E Catalogue), produced by the Knowledge and Information Branch of the Victorian Department of Primary Industries, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, maps, manuscripts and pictorial matter in the Knowledge Resource Centre at Werribee and small regional collections of the Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment. Includes some historical materials from 1853. The libraries hold specialist collections in ecology, conservation, forestry, national parks, soil conservation, botany, horticulture, land use and management, water management, pest plant and animal control, geology, aquaculture, fisheries, and marine studies.