Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General and multidisciplinary resources
Academic earth This link opens in a new window
The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface.
Amazon.com This link opens in a new window
Amazon.com main website. Book titles searchable by author, title, and subject keyword.
Annual reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Australian and New Zealand books in print : books (Informit) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database provided booksellers and librarians with information about Australian and New Zealand books, series of books, and imprints. Ceased publication in December 2003.
Australian public affairs : full text (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books.
AUSTGUIDE (Informit) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database indexes and selectively abstracts articles from more than 120 predominantly Australian periodicals of both general and educational interest. Film reviews are also included. Coverage: 1986 to 2006.
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information.
Biography index retrospective : 1946-1983 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers biographical content about people from antiquity to 1983 appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases from 1946 to 1983. The database includes articles and book citations as well as interviews and profiles of history-makers.
Cambridge core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. Cambridge Core provides a gateway to ebook and journal publications of the Cambridge University Press imprint, covering subjects from all disciplines. (Only ebooks purchased by Monash University Library are available as full text access. Searches can be limited to this content by ticking the box "Only search content I have access to")
Cambridge journals online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of nearly 400 leading journals, including over 200 published on behalf of learned and professional societies. Cambridge Journals Online covers a broad range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
The Campus Bookstore (Monash University Caulfield and Peninsula Campuses)
Sales catalogue searchable by author, title or ISBN for a great range of new and second-hand textbooks available in store and online. We also offer a textbook rental service. We hold a great selection of general books as well as nursing and medical equipment. Free postage throughout Australia on all orders placed through our website.
Citebase.eprints.org This link opens in a new window
Citebase is a prototype OAI harvester which provides users with the facility for searching across multiple archives, with results ranked according to many criteria, including citation impact with citation linking. Abstracts and some full records are also available. Citebase contains articles from physics, maths, information science, and (published only) biomedical papers.
Cities of the world
A compilation of current information on cultural, geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included.
CSIRO Publishing. Journals This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text database of selected journal titles, presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists, and covering a broad range of subjects. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.
Web of science. Current contents connect This link opens in a new window
Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials.
DART-Europe : e-theses portal This link opens in a new window
"The DART-Europe E-theses Portal is a searchable database of electronic research theses held in European repositories. The theses listed are open access - publicly available, in full, without charge. The DART-Europe Portal does not store theses, but it provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. DART-Europe holds as much information as possible about each thesis, but this can vary, depending on the source of the information. As a minimum, details of the author, title and date of award are held. Many providers supply additional searchable information, such as abstracts and keywords."--Help page.
Directory of open access books This link opens in a new window
"The Directory of Open Access Books (www.doabooks.org), is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide the metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. These metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. At the start of the service there are just over 20 publishers participating with about 750 Open Access books and new publishers and books will be added [progressively]..."--Press release, The Hague, April 12, 2012.
Directory of open access journals This link opens in a new window
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
EBook collection : EBSCOhost. This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text database from EBSCOhost, offering a selection of scholarly, frontlist eBook titles from leading publishers. These titles cover a broad range of academic subjects and topics. The Library has access to selected titles, as well as to many open access titles included in the database.
Ebook library This link opens in a new window
See now: ProQuest ebook central
Eighteenth century collections online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.
Emerald insight This link opens in a new window
Database of mainly business, management, applied sciences and technology, information technology, and engineering journals, ebooks and case studies (with a European perspective). Full text articles are available for most titles from mid 1990's. Click on MyProducts to access Monash University Library subscribed content.
Essay and general literature retrospective (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Essay and general literature index retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. It covers eight decades (1900-1984) of essays, annuals and serial publications from the 20th century.
EThOS : Electronic Theses Online System This link opens in a new window
EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.
EU publications This link opens in a new window
EU Bookshop is an online service giving access to publications from the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies. Now the EU Bookshop Digital Library will provide access to 12 million scanned pages in more than 110,000 EU publications. Launched at the Frankfurt Book Fair on the 16 October , it offers all publications edited by the Publications Office on behalf of the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies since 1952. Access the digital library by selecting the option Digital Library in the search pages.
Europa.eu : official website of the European Union. This link opens in a new window
EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties. Provides information on EU initiatives, policies, institutions and services, access to selected documents of the EU including the Maastricht Treaty.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
See: Academic OneFile
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
HighWire Press This link opens in a new window
Host site for 100s of journals, mostly high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in the medical and biological sciences with some physical and social sciences titles. Access to many full text journals is available where Monash University Library has a subscription or after a period of 6, 12, or 24 months. Register for email alerts, a list of favourite journals or link to related articles in PubMed or the Web of Science.
Humanities index retrospective : 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This H.W. Wilson database indexes nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and provides access to millions of articles, including citations to books reviews. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more.
Informit search This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 70 databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies.
Informit Edu TV This link opens in a new window
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Features include: Instant streaming access to 10,000 programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functionality; No advertisements; Option to turn closed captions on and off; Free study guides.
IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
The Ingenta Connect portal now hosts millions of full text articles and over 16,000 publications from 100s of scholarly, academic and business publishers. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary.
Internet archive This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artefacts in digital form, began in 1996. Includes the WayBackMachine for searching billions of web pages and archived web sites saved over time. Digitised books, videos, audio, software and images are also searchable.
Journal citation reports. Science and Social sciences edition This link opens in a new window
See: InCites. Journal citation reports
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.
Kungnip Chungang Tosogwan Chonja Tosogwan = The National Library of Korea Digital Library. This link opens in a new window
Access restricted to all PCs in Asian Studies Research Collection (ASRC) and visitors PCs in Branch Libraries (Australian campuses), Monash Unviersity
Integrated search service for domestic and foreign materials held by the National Library of Korea, including digitized materials of old and rare documents, and the materials for which five years have passed since the dates of their publication
MIT OpenCourseWare This link opens in a new window
MIT OCW provides users with open access to the syllabi, lecture notes, course calendars, problem sets and solutions, exams, reading lists, and even a selection of video lectures, from 1000s of MIT courses representing all five of MIT's schools.
Monash University Bookshop
Sales catalogue searchable by ISBN/EAN and author, title and keyword. Coverage includes all subject disciplines with textbooks constituting only 15% of titles in stock.
Monash University research repository This link opens in a new window
"The Monash University Research Repository contains content representing Monash University's research activity. The repository provides a place to securely store and centrally manage selected research data, collections, and related publications so they are globally accessible online. The repository contains accepted versions of published works like books, book chapters, journal articles and conference papers. Non-published manuscripts and grey literature like theses, technical reports, working and discussion papers, and conference posters are collected. Research data holdings, data sets, image collections, audio and video files are also included in the repository.."--About page.
NGA GEOnet names server : GNS. This link opens in a new window
The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica.
NSTC : nineteenth-century short title catalogue. This link opens in a new window
Catalogue of British books printed between 1801 and 1919. Includes all books published in Britain, its colonies, and the USA, as well as all books in English and all translations from English.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community. Users can search by keyword, title, creator, subject or resource type, and searches yield a detailed and well-organized description of the resource and a link to the resource itself. Indexed content includes the Library of Congress' American Memory Project, various pre-print and e-print servers, and digital thesis and dissertation collections. OAIster currently provides access to over 18 million records harvested from 1034 contributors. OAIster increases the visibility and accessibility of these unique resources by providing a 'broad, generic, information retrieval resource for information about publicly available digital library resources' via a single point of entry.
OECD Library This link opens in a new window
"OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for books, papers and statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters. OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently (October 2010) 1,000 journal issues, 2,900 working papers, 2,500 multi-lingual summaries, 6,200 e-book titles, 14,000 tables and graphs, 21,000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points."--About.
Online books page This link opens in a new window
Features an index to millions of books that can be freely read on the Internet. It also includes pointers to significant directories and archives of online texts, and special exhibits. The site was founded in 1993 by its current editor, John Ockerbloom, and is hosted by University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
Oxford English dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. While still finding present-day meanings in the OED, users will also find the history of individual words, and of the language.
Oxford journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given in an "About this journal" section. The "Online journals" table lists the available online material for each journal. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years. Allows searching across the Oxford Journals collection or browsing by title.
Periodicals archive online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of hundreds of scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, including some published as far back as 1770. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases.
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is a comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses from around the world. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
ProQuest Newsstand This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Newsstand offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.--About page.
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
Readers' guide retrospective : 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson). This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. It includes the full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
Ryerson index to contemporary death notices and obituaries in Australian newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Ryerson Index covers death notices and obituaries in 199 Australian newspapers (as at January 2012). The Index is an ongoing work-in-progress and is not a comprehensive index. Newspaper titles are predominantly from Sydney and country NSW, with papers from other states and territories indexed as well. The date ranges indexed vary from paper to paper and are not necessarily complete within that range. Most of what has been indexed is contemporary, that is, within the last 30 years. The Sydney Morning Herald is indexed from 1831.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Scirus : for scientific information only
A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref is an intuitive, full-text healthcare library that enables users to cross-search full-text books, journals, and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources. Titles are derived from a wide variety of publishers and medical societies. Subject coverage includes: drug information, nursing, patient information, point of care, and radiology, while searches can be limited to images, alerts, news, EBMCalc, dictionary terms, and more.
Taylor & Francis online This link opens in a new window
Portal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which provides access to thousands of e-books and journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science from well known publishers such as Routledge, CRC Press, Chapman and Hall, Ashgate, Psychology Press, Longman and Heinemann. Searches can be filtered to Library subscribed content only. The site also hosts a growing collection of Open Access content.
Times literary supplement historical archive, 1902 -2019 This link opens in a new window
This unique digital collection offers thousands of book reviews - fiction and nonfiction, poetry, and covers every area of the visual and performing arts including film reviews, plays reviews and reviews of exhibitions, opera and theatre. It contains topical essays and criticism in the areas of science and medicine; art and architecture; history, music and religion; politics, economics and philosophy; exploration and sport; as well as engineering and town planning.
Trove This link opens in a new window
The Australian National Library's Trove service helps users find and use resources relating to Australia. It provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere. Metadata is aggregated from Australian sources including: The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.
Ulrichsweb : global serials directory. This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb is an authoritative and easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, open access publications and more, from around the world. It covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
VICNAMES : the register of Geographic Names. This link opens in a new window
This database holds more than 200,000 road and place names, including landscape features such as mountains and rivers, bounded localities such as suburbs, towns, cities and regions, and physical infrastructure such as roads, reserves and schools.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)
Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
Webster's unabridged dictionary
Webster's Unabridged is America's premier lexicographical work. This electronic version comprises the text of Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged, published in 1961, and subsequent updates which take account of current usage. The Merriam-Webster company has continued to update its files since publication of Webster's Third New International Dictionary. The source data for this electronic version of Webster's Unabridged was obtained in 1996 and so includes additional material and addenda included since publication of both the original 1961 edition and the updated 1993 edition. This version appears in electronic form for the first time.
White pages This link opens in a new window
Online telephone directory of Australian residential, business and government contact information.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series.
World Digital Library (WDL) This link opens in a new window
The WDL will make available on the Internet significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains millions of records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries from around the world, including Monash University Library. Each record contains library holdings. It describes: books; book chapters; computer data files; computer programs; films and slides; journals; journal chapters; magazines; manuscripts; maps; musical scores; newspapers; sound recordings; videotapes; CDs; CD-ROMs, and more.
Yellow pages This link opens in a new window
The Yellow Pages website has business listings, phone numbers, maps, email addresses and websites for local Australian businesses.
YouTube Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
The Library of Congress stores millions of films, broadcasts and sound recordings dating from the earliest Edison films to the present, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube. Films and videos are being progressively uploaded to this free site, starting off with the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison.