Databases by Subject: Nursing and Midwifery

The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine. Subjects covered include: complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.

CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology. CINAHL includes 1,314 journals with searchable cited references.

A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

The JBI EBP database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Subject Area Nodes: Evidence organized into health care area/specialties. Only information specific to that health topic is included in each database.

This database provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health professions, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. It provides thousands of journal titles in full-text, plus dissertations and other grey literature representing rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields. Also included is access to evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI).

Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database. Underlying Emcare's precise indexing is the Emtree thesaurus, and Ovid offers multiple tools to take advantage of this indexing.

Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

See: APA PsycInfo

Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.

AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. It covers the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
.

This portal provides access to Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform (Select the My collections dropdown, and then one or more collections). Video, audio, and text collections, covering a wide variety of subject matters, are included. In addition to secondary sources, the portal also contains significant primary source material. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.

A bibliographic database of journal articles on allied and alternatives to conventional medicine. Subjects covered include: complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Users need to create a personal account
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.

The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

Database Includes 1000's of full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.

Users need to request access using Monash email.
Note that it may breach Copyright Regulations or Database Licence Agreements to share full text material downloaded from Monash databases with Non-Monash colleagues or collaborators.

Covidence is a not-for-profit service working in partnership with Cochrane to improve the production and use of systematic reviews for health and wellbeing.

Database covers Australasian health information, providing full text access to core content from the region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. A significant proportion of the content is unavailable online elsewhere, and includes journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.

Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Features include: Instant streaming access to 10,000 programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functionality; No advertisements; Option to turn closed captions on and off; Free study guides.

Internurse.com is an online archive of peer-reviewed nursing articles published by MA Healthcare Ltd, one of the UK's leading independent nursing publishers. It draws together articles from selected high-quality journals, including the foremost generalist clinical journal, British Journal of Nursing, and the leading journal for wound-care professionals, Journal of Wound Care. More than 200 new clinical and professional articles are added each month.

Maternity and Infant Care is an important essential resource for academics and healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. This unique database contains over 120,000 references with abstracts to journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant's life. Database coverage is from the mid-1980s and approximately 1000 records are added to the database per month.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

The result of Alexander Street's partnership with Medcom-Trainex, one of the largest providers of nursing education video programs worldwide, Nursing Education in Video gives faculty and students anywhere-anytime access to Medcom's highly regarded library of full-length training programs -- online in streaming video -- with all of the search power and advanced functionality that Alexander Street's video collections deliver. As a single, cross-searchable collection, Nursing Education in Video covers the fundamentals of nurse training and advanced topics.

Psychiatry online is the APA platform featuring all American Psychiatric Association Publishing journals, DSM-5, and bestselling textbooks, as well as APA Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools, and continuing medical education. Much more than individual titles, Psychiatry online features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target information.

Searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles. It allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice as practised by today's leading practitioners in North America. The database features demonstrations and counselling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. This is a resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology.

RURAL, a bibliographic database produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, covered a range of areas including rural medical practices, indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, the practice and educational needs of health care providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. There is international coverage of journal articles, and some conference and discussion papers. Coverage: 1966 to December 2017.

Sage research methods cases is a unique collection of hundreds of case studies for use in the teaching of research methods. Cases are drawn from around the world, from established academics, post-docs and PhD students, working across a wide spectrum of academic disciplines and working with the widest range of different research methods. The goal of the collection is to provide students and faculty with short usable examples of methods and research in action, drawn from real research projects, to support teaching and learning in research methods

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SRMO contains content from more than 600 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series from SAGE.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Links are made directly to relevant evidence-based material on the web, as well as to articles from peer-reviewed on-line journals and e-textbooks. It also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Monash University staff and students
This resource is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support database designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes; links to full text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and to a number of medical calculators. It is written, reviewed and continuously updated by physicians to ensure that the content remains current.

Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)

Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series. The major collections of the Wiley online library are: Journals, Journal backfiles, Online books and book series, Online reference works, Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, Current protocols laboratory manuals, Evidence-based medicine databases, and Chemistry databases.