Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for statistics
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions.
Australian Census of Population and Housing online This link opens in a new window
This site provides comprehensive access to the most recent Australian Census of Population and Housing in 2016. Links are provided to the 2011, 2006, 2001, 1996 and 1991 census products and services.
Census TableBuilder is an online tool which allows you to create your own tables of Census data by accessing all variables contained in the Census Output Record File including age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethnicity, occupation, family composition and more for all ABS geographic areas. TableBuilder allows you to select the variables to include in your table, and how you want to structure the data. You are required to register to use this product which is freely accessible to Monash University students and staff. It requires skills in building tables and working with Census Data. Registration information: http://www.monash.edu.au/researchoffice/datasets/ For other Census products go to: http://www.abs.gov.au/websitedbs/D3310114.nsf/home/Census+data.
Global financial development database This link opens in a new window
"Global Development Finance database provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the Debtor Reporting System (DRS). [It] is the sole repository for statistics on the external debt of developing countries derived from loan-by-loan records. This edition of GDF presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of 128 individual countries that report to the World Bank's Debtor reporting System (DRS). Global Development Finance is an annual publication, which includes a narrative account of recent trends with tables summarizing the capital flows and debt statistics for reporting countries. The database covers more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 128 countries with data from 1970 to 2008."--About.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items").
Searchable database of statistical information on the geography, economy, population, and social indicators of the member states of the United Nations, drawn from the United Nations World Statistics Pocketbook, its Statistical Yearbook, and other sources. Up to seven countries and four statistical data elements may be included in one search.
International data base (IDB) This link opens in a new window
This dataset contains information from tables of demographic, economic and social data for the countries of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Information presented includes population, health, nutrition, morality, fertility, family planning and contraceptive use, literacy, housing, and economic activity data. Tabular data are broken down by such variables as age, sex and urban/rural residence.
ILOSTAT This link opens in a new window
The ILOSTAT database of the ILO contains a wide range of data on worldwide labour markets and unemployment, including data on employment by economic sector, wages per hour, weekly working hours, unemployment and strikes. The entry page to ILOSTAT offers statistics by country or by subject as well as information on concepts and definitions.
Mental measurements yearbook and Test in print (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
"Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks."--Ovid database field guide.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.
NationMaster.com This link opens in a new window
Database provides population and economic statistics on various countries and generates graphs from the statistical data. Includes country profiles covering geography, military, economics, international relations.
TRID : the TRIS and ITRD database This link opens in a new window
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's (U.S. Transportation Research Board) Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.3 million records of transportation research worldwide.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNdata brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes, and economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks.
World databank This link opens in a new window
The World Bank is now providing free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe.
World economic outlook databases This link opens in a new window
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database is created during the biannual WEO exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the April and September/October WEO publication. Selected series from the publication are available in a database format here, and datasets can be easily downloaded. The WEO databases are produced by the International Monetary Fund (IMF).