Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APAIS-Health : Australian public affairs information service : health (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Australian bibliographic database that indexes health and health related articles from journals, newspapers, conference papers and books. Subject coverage includes the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health.
BMJ best practice This link opens in a new window
Users need to create a personal account
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
CINAHL plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus, an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, provides indexing for 1,000s of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health (17 allied health disciplines in all) with indexing back to 1937. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library, produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Cochrane Library is a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research.
EBM reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. For a comprehensive search, simultaneously search All EBM Reviews: the CochraneDSR, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, (Cochrane methodology register, Health technology assessment, NHS economic evaluation database) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.
Therapeutic guidelines This link opens in a new window
If you have previously used the eTG app, please use this link to renew your token: https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=https://www.tg.org.au/tokens/
Therapeutic guidelines includes the latest version of all the topics published by Therapeutics Guidelines Limited. It provides access to therapeutic guidelines with instructions for therapy and practical treatment advice. Access to relevant PBS data including pregnancy and breastfeeding information ; Links to key references, full text articles and relevant Cochrane Library Reviews ; Links to other independent information ; Australian Prescriber (including Medicines Safety Update), NPS RADAR, NPS News and Clinical Evidence ; technical enhancements such as calculators for creatinine clearance and ideal body weight.
Informit search This link opens in a new window
Searches only Informit full text databases
Provides access to specialised databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ...
Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
See: APA PsycInfo
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.