Subject guides: Databases by Subject: Nutrition, Dietetics and Food

Other useful guides

Related sites

Key Databases

Databases are a quick and efficient means of finding journal articles on a given topic. You can find some of the key databases for nursing and midwifery listed in the box to the right. Monash will not have all the items listed in these databases. You will often need to use the Check for full text link provided in most databases to see if Monash holds a particular journal article, or you can also search for the journal name (not the article title) in the catalogue under Advanced search (set Material type to Journals and search by title).

The best databases to use to to find journal articles
NOTE: links below open in a new window:

Health

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology. CINAHL Complete includes 1,314 journals with searchable cited references.
Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library, produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Cochrane Library is a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research.
Health collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Database covers Australasian health information, providing full text access to core content from the region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. A significant proportion of the content is unavailable online elsewhere, and includes journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.
JBI EBP database (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The JBI EBP database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Subject Area Nodes: Evidence organized into health care area/specialties. Only information specific to that health topic is included in each database.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
See: APA PsycInfo

Food Science

Multidisciplinary (general)

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The Proquest platform is a leading multidisciplinary portal allowing cross-search access to many key online databases, both full text and bibliographic. Databases cover academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine, and consist of scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is a portal to Springer publications. It provides researchers with ready access to a comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books, book series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer, and by associated imprints such as Palgrave. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary with an emphasis on the sciences, technology and biomedical literature.
Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new window
Web of Science All Databases enables cross searching of leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, and navigation of the full citation network hosted on the WoS platform.
Databases are: Web of Science core collection; Current contents; Data citation index; Medline; SciELO citation index ; Russia science citation index; Biological abstracts; BIOSIS previews, and KCI-Korean Journal Database.

Sociology / current affairs

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world. This link opens in a new window
See: Access world news : research collection
Sociological abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage is from 1952 to the present.

Education

A+ education (Informit) This link opens in a new window
A+ Education, based on AEI : the Australian Education Index, is an indexing and full text database that provides access to journal articles from published material on all aspects of education in Australia. A+ Education is produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER). Full text articles from 2000, and index/abstracts from 1978, are available.
ERIC via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database comprises indexes and abstracts of published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; tests, measurement and evaluation; etc.
VOCEDplus : the tertiary education research database. This link opens in a new window
VOCEDplus is a free research database for tertiary education, especially as it relates to workforce needs, skills development, and social inclusion. It encompasses vocational education and training (VET), higher education, adult and community education, informal learning, and VET in Schools. It is international in scope and contains over 80,000 English language records, many with links to full text documents. It covers the outcomes of tertiary education in the shape of research, policy, practice, and published statistics. It has extensive coverage of Australian material and includes a wide range of international information.

Journals

Journals are also referred to as serials, periodicals, magazines or newspapers and contain more up-to-date and subject specific information than books. Many journals are available electronically, but photocopies of articles held in print at other campuses may be requested via the document delivery service.

Examples of some specific journals are shown below
Note - links open in a new window:

Databases by Subject: Nutrition, Dietetics and Food

Contents

Other useful guides

Related sites

Key Databases

Journals