Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering village (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, Inspec, Referex Engineering, GEOBASE and GeoRef. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.
IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a full text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering. It provides access to IEEE transactions, journals, books, conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988, and all current IEEE Standards. Updated weekly, it also provides an email table of contents alerting service. IEEE (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) and IEE (The Institution of Electrical Engineers) are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world. Inspec includes access to the research intelligence tool, Inspec Analytics.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
Access Engineering: see AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is a redesign of the premiere online engineering resource, formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. AccessEngineering features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to the engineering collection in the following subject areas: Biomedical - Chemical - Civil - Communications - Construction - Electrical - Energy - Environmental - Green/Sustainable - Industrial - Material Science - Mechanical - Nanotechnology - Optical. In addition, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering is embedded on all search pages.
ACM digital library This link opens in a new window
Covers full text journals and proceedings from the Association since the 1950s. It also includes works published by affiliated organisations
Australian nuclear science and technology information (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), this database contains bibliographical references to the Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development. Source documents include all relevant published and unpublished (technical and scientific reports, conference proceedings, theses, and so on) authored by Australians or published in Australia. Coverage: 1970 to 2015.
Bentham science : [ebooks]. This link opens in a new window
Portal to over 200 ebooks covering all major disciplines of science, technology, and medicine. Titles can be browsed alphabetically or by subject, or searched by any combination of terms. Includes monographs, handbooks, conference proceedings, textbooks, review volumes, and biographies.
Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from 1000's of engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports. It is updated weekly. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Compendex combined with Ei Engineering Index Backfile provides coverage from 1884.
Web of science. Current contents connect This link opens in a new window
Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.
Australian engineering database (Informit) This link opens in a new window
ENGINE, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering and in particular the publications of the Institution since 1980. It provides access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. It covers all branches of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, geotechnical, ocean and military.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
See: Academic OneFile
IET digital library : IET books This link opens in a new window
Database of electronic books published by the IET. The IET runs a professional and academic book programme featuring some 300 books across 12 series, covering all the key areas of engineering and technology. The available series are: Circuits, devices and systems; Control engineering; Electrical technology; Electromagnetic waves; History of technology; Management of technology; Manufacturing; Power and energy; Professional applications of computing; Radar, sonar, navigation and avionics; Renewable energy; Telecommunications.
Informit Edu TV This link opens in a new window
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Features include: Instant streaming access to 10,000 programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functionality; No advertisements; Option to turn closed captions on and off; Free study guides.
Info Sci-Books This link opens in a new window
InfoSci¿¿-Books is a fully-searchable database providing access to chapters from every book and reference work IGI Global has published since the year 2000. InfoSci¿¿-Books provides ... full-text search results from prestigious encyclopedias, handbooks of research and premier reference sources contributed by top experts in the fields of information science, medical information science, business science and engineering science.--Publisher description
Info Sci-Cases This link opens in a new window
"InfoSci-Cases (formerly IGI Teaching Case Collection) offers electronic access to all information technology teaching cases published by IGI Global in one easy-to-use online format. InfoSci-Cases is an extensive, academic, online full-text database which provides ... access to hundreds of teaching cases from IGI Global books and journals...Currently there are over 650 teaching cases available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present time and new cases are consistently added each quarter."--Overview page.
Info Sci-Journals This link opens in a new window
IGI Global's InfoSci-Journals database is an expanding full-text collection of 140+ peer-reviewed ejournals that focus on cutting-edge, specialized topics in advanced technology research as well as organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications of technology.
Knovel library This link opens in a new window
This is an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE. It includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings. It is designed to help engineers solve complex problems efficiently.
MRS online proceedings library archive This link opens in a new window
Collection of online proceedings papers from MRS meetings, searchable by author name, paper title, volume number and keyword.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is a comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses from around the world. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science This link opens in a new window
An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page self-contained electronic documents--lectures, which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. Each is authored by a prominent contributor to the field. New series and lectures are added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed.
Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. The first three citation databases (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)) contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. The two conference proceedings citation indexes (Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)) include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields. The two chemistry databases (Index Chemicus (IC), and Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-Expanded)) allow you to create structure drawings to find chemical compounds and reactions. You can also search these databases for compound and reaction data.--Publisher description.