Coding Resources
The following online resources are useful references/debugging aids to students of programming, and are focused primarily on the Python environment.
- Geeks for GeeksAnother useful resource for programmers. Can be used for quick reference when debugging but also includes foundational courses for students and professionals. Covers a number of languages including Python and many of its libraries
- GitHubOriginally an online software repository based on Git, a Linux version control package, GitHub now offers social networking functions, issue tracking and access to a wide range of publicly available software packages.
- Google's Python resourcesGoogle's Python tutorial aimed at people with a little bit of programming experience, it includes written materials, lecture videos, and code exercises.
- Python 3 documentationThe official documentation for the current version of Python.
- Stack OverflowA site where coding enthusiasts post programming questions which other enthusiasts answer. The answers are rated, earning “reputation points” for the providers of popular answers. The information provided on this site can be useful but should be approached with caution by inexperienced programmers as judging which responses are most valuable or why a particular approach is best can be difficult. Sites that provide context may be more helpful as you develop your skills.
- W3 Schools - Python tutorialW3Schools is a useful resource for beginner to intermediate programmers. Can be used as a step-by-step tutorial or as a quick reference. Clear examples of basic coding - Covering a number of laguages including Python, HTML & CSS
Engineering and STEMM Databases
These large comprehensive databases, (indexes) cover the areas of Engineering, Sciences and Medicine. Their size makes them the best place to search unless your area of study is highly specialised.
Note: Compendex, GeoBase, GeoRef, Inspec, EP patents, US patents, WO patents are accessed via the Engineering Village platform
General Engineering
- Australian engineering database (Informit) This link opens in a new windowThe Australian Institution of Engineers database, ENGINE offers access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. Covers all branches of engineering. Full text availabale where Monash holds a subscription.
- Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of Engineering articles, conference proceedings, patents and technical reports. focuses on bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering/transportation.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of Journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books as well as a research intelligence tool, 'Inspec Analytics' covering physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and information technology.
- Knovel library This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of Engineering books, articles, conference proceedings, formulae and documentation relating to materials science & engineering.
Comprehensive Multidisciplinary Databases
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering, medical and other literature (includes conference proceedings, books patents and trade publications) .Full text available where the library holds a subscription. Also offers Research intelligence tools.
- Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering and medical literature citations (includes conference proceedings, books patents and trade publications). Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Comprehensive Medical
- Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering Databases
These are smaller, specialist databases focusing on the area of Electrical Engineering and Computer systems engineering.
- ACM digital library This link opens in a new windowThe Australian Institution of Engineers database, ENGINE offers access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. Covers all branches of engineering. Full text availabale where Monash holds a subscription.
- Computer science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowBusiness and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
- Computer science database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers artificial intelligence and machine learning; computer games; graphics; networks; programming; security; systems; database management; hardware; information science and information theory; software, etc. From 1972 to present.
- IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE), IEEE XPlore provides access to IEEE transactions, journals, books, conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988, and all current IEEE Standards
- SPIE digital library This link opens in a new windowOptics and photonics information: technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings, and eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present.
Journals
The Library subscribes to a variety of journals that publish articles relating to the Department of Electrical & Computer Systems Engineering's research themes. If you’re looking for a journal, rather than a specific article, you can search the BrowZine Engineering and Technical section or ‘Library Search’ by title.
Biomedical Engineering
Access articles published in journals covering research in Biomedical & Health Sciences, including...
BioMed Research International by Publication Date: 2013 - Present
Electromagnetics and Electronics/Optical Systems and Networking
Access articles published in journals covering research in Electromagnetics & Photonics, including...
Advances in Optics and Photonics by Publication Date: 2009 - Present
Internet of Things/Wireless Telecommunications
Access articles published in journals covering research in Embedded/Hardware Systems, including...
ACM Transactions on Internet of Things by Publication Date: 2020 - Present
IEEE internet of things journal by ISBN: 2372-2541Publication Date: From 2014A joint publication of : IEEE Sensors Council, IEEE Communications Society, IEEE Computer Society, IEEE Signal Processing SocietyFrom Volume 1, Number 1 (February 2014).
Optimization, Information Processing, Control and Decision Systems
Access articles published in journals covering research in Optimization, and Controls & Control Theory, including...
IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control by Publication Date: 1963 -Present
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence
Access articles published in journals covering research in Artificial Intelligence, and Robotics, including...
The International Journal of Robotics Research by Publication Date: 1982 - Present
Smart Power Systems
Access articles published in journals covering research in Electrical Power & Energy, including...
Progress in Photovoltaics: Research and Applications by Publication Date: 1993 - Present
Protection and Control of Modern Power Systems by Publication Date: 2016 - present
Background Resources
Background resources provide an overview of various zelectrical & computer systems concepts, methods, processes, and theories, and may include books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. These resources are authoritative sources of information, but are easier to read compared to research articles published in journals.
Digital Control Engineering: Analysis and Design (3rd Ed.) by Publication Date: 2020
Electromagnetic Metasurfaces: Theory and Applications by Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Deep Learning in Biomedical Engineering: Techniques and Applications by Publication Date: 2020
Internet of Things: Technologies and Applications for a New Age of Intelligence (2nd Ed.) by Publication Date: 2019
Raspberry Pi IoT Projects by ISBN: 9781484269107Publication Date: 2021-03-06Build your own Internet of Things (IoT) projects for prototyping and proof-of-concept purposes. Updated for the Raspberry Pi 4 and other recent boards, The 2nd edition contains the tools needed to build a prototype of your design, sense the environment, communicate with the Internet (over the Internet and Machine to Machine communications) and display the results. The software is presented as reusable libraries, primarily in Python and C with full source code available.
Smart Power Distribution Systems: Control, Communication, and Optimization by Publication Date: 2019
Popular Magazines
Browsing popular magazines in your research field can be a great way to keep up to date with new developments, and introduce yourself to new concepts and topics you may not be familiar with. Below are some key popular/magazine titles published by various professional societies related to electrical and computer systems engineering.
Note: These magazines are not peer-reviewed journals, and cannot be used as a scholarly/academic source in your research
- Browzine This link opens in a new windowUse BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from Monash University Library, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines.
Create by Publication Date: 2015 - Present
IEEE Pulse by Publication Date: 1962 - Present
Insight by Publication Date: 1993 - Present
Photonics Focus by Publication Date: 2006 - Present
Women In Engineering by Publication Date: 2007 - Present