Engineering and STEMM Databases
These large comprehensive databases, (indexes) cover the areas of Engineering, Sciences and Medicine. Their size makes them the best place to search unless your area of study is highly specialised.
Note: Compendex, GeoBase, GeoRef, Inspec, EP patents, US patents, WO patents are accessed via the Engineering Village platform
General Engineering
- Australian engineering database (Informit) This link opens in a new windowThe Australian Institution of Engineers database, ENGINE offers access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. Covers all branches of engineering. Full text availabale where Monash holds a subscription.
- Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of Engineering articles, conference proceedings, patents and technical reports. focuses on bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering/transportation.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of Journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books as well as a research intelligence tool, 'Inspec Analytics' covering physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and information technology.
- Knovel library This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of Engineering books, articles, conference proceedings, formulae and documentation relating to materials science & engineering.
Comprehensive Multidisciplinary Databases
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering, medical and other literature (includes conference proceedings, books patents and trade publications) .Full text available where the library holds a subscription. Also offers Research intelligence tools.
- Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering and medical literature citations (includes conference proceedings, books patents and trade publications). Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Comprehensive Medical
- Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Chemical and Biological Databases
These are specialist databases focusing on the area of Chemical and Biological Engineering.
- ACS publications This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the electronic full text versions of journals published (or co-published) by the American Chemical Society.
- RSC journals This link opens in a new windowThe Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 47+ peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics. Full text access is available for all titles.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles, book titles, including major reference works series with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and to a lesser extent social sciences and the humanities.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Chemical Society, SciFinder-n allows you to search the scientific literature for specific chemicals, structures, compounds, syntheses, reactions, and reagents (as well as key concepts). To access SciFinder-n, Monash University users must first register
Journals
The Library subscribes to a variety of journals that publish articles relating to the Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering's research themes. If you’re looking for a journal, rather than a specific article, you can search the BrowZine Engineering and Technical section or ‘Library Search’ by title.
- Computers & education
"Computers & Education aims to increase knowledge and understanding of ways in which digital technology can enhance education, through the publication of high-quality research, which extends theory and practice." - Education for chemical engineers
Covers education research papers, resource reviews and teaching and learning notes. ECE is targeted at chemical engineers - Engineering applications of artificial intelligence
" This journal provides an international forum for rapid publication of work describing the practical application of AI methods in all branches of engineering." - International of heat & mass transfer
This journal "focuses on theoretical, computational and experimental research, with an emphasis on contributions which increase the basic understanding of transfer processes and their application to engineering problems." - Journal of cleaner production
discusses theoretical and practical cleaner production, encompassing environmental, and sustainability issues in corporations, governments, education institutions, regions, and societies.
Conference Proceedings
- IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE), IEEE XPlore provides access to IEEE transactions, journals, books, conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988, and all current IEEE Standards
- SPIE digital library This link opens in a new windowThe SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive resource for optics and photonics information, providing access to more than 500,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings, and nearly 400 eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers and 25 eBooks are added annually.
Background Resources
Background resources provide an overview of various Chemical & Biological Engineering concepts, methods, processes, and theories, and may include books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. These resources are authoritative sources of information, but are easier to read compared to research articles published in journals.
- Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
"the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field." - Perry's chemical engineers' handbook
"Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, 2019, provides coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more." - Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
"Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is the benchmark reference in chemical and life science engineering, advanced materials, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and much more." - A Practical Approach to Chemical Engineering for Non-Chemical Engineers
2021
"The book demystifies complicated chemical engineering concepts through daily life examples and analogies."
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccess restricted to 5 concurrent users only. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, it features comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to the engineering collection in the following subject areas: Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Communications, Construction, Electrical, Energy, Environmental, Green/Sustainable, Industrial, Material Science, Mechanical, Nanotechnology and Optical.
- Knovel library This link opens in a new windowKnovel, an ebook collection, is a searchable online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including books, handbooks, encyclopedias, and more. It delivers trusted, accessible and relevant information engineering, science, and much more.