Engineering and STEMM Databases
These large comprehensive databases, (indexes) cover the areas of Engineering, Sciences and Medicine. Their size makes them the best place to search unless your area of study is highly specialised.
Note: Compendex, GeoBase, GeoRef, Inspec, EP patents, US patents, WO patents are accessed via the Engineering Village platform
General Engineering
- Australian engineering database (Informit) This link opens in a new windowThe Institution of Engineers Australia database, ENGINE offers access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. Covers all branches of engineering. Full text available where Monash holds a subscription.
- Compendex (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of Engineering articles, conference proceedings, patents and technical reports. Focuses on bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering/transportation.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books as well as a research intelligence tool, 'Inspec Analytics' covering physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and information technology.
- Knovel library This link opens in a new windowAn extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE. It includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings.
Comprehensive Multidisciplinary Databases
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering, medical and other literature (includes conference proceedings, books, patents and trade publications). Full text available where the library holds a subscription. Also offers research intelligence tools.
- Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, engineering and medical literature citations (includes conference proceedings, books, patents and trade publications). Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Comprehensive Medical
- Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available where the library holds a subscription.
Popular magazines
Browsing popular magazines in your research field can be a great way to keep up to date with new developments, and introduce yourself to new concepts and topics you may not be familiar with. Below are some key magazines published by various professional societies related to Engineering.
Note: These magazines are not peer-reviewed journals, and cannot be used as a scholarly/academic source in your research
Create by Publication Date: 2015 - Present
Women In Engineering by Publication Date: 2007 - Present