Civil Engineering Databases
These are smaller, specialist databases focusing on the area of Civil Engineering.
- ASCE library : American Society of Civil Engineers research library This link opens in a new windowContains research from all journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) as well as eBooks, proceedings and ACSE standards.
- Australian building, construction, and engineering database (Informit) This link opens in a new windowBUILD: Worldwide information in the building, construction and engineering fields from 1989 to February 2002. Conference papers, journal articles, standards, building regulations, technical papers, reports and books. Covering building, construction and engineering, structural engineering, building regulations, and fire technology.
- Australian transport index (Informit) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Australian Road Research Board (ARRB), and contains published and unpublished Australian material on transport topics including road safety, intelligent transport systems, transport and the environment, public transport, traffic engineering and control, and soil and rock mechanics
- ICE virtual library - books and journals This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE). Includes reference works, state-of-the-art reports, journals, technical books, conference proceedings and contract documents, covering all aspects of civil and structural engineering.
- TRID : the TRIS and ITRD database This link opens in a new windowContains research from the Transportation Research Board's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database, and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) database
- World Transit Research This link opens in a new windowCovers public transport planning. WTR is an indexed and searchable free repository of research papers, reports, research abstracts and links to research findings from leading research journals. Developed and run by the Public Transport Research Group at the Institute of Transport Studies, Monash University.
Journals
- Browzine This link opens in a new windowUse BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from Monash University Library, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines.
Energy & Environmental Science by Publication Date: 2008 - Present
Journal of Composites for Construction by Publication Date: 1997 - Present
Journal of Water Process Engineering by Publication Date: 2014 - Present
Background Resources
Background resources provide an overview of various Civil Engineering concepts, methods, processes, and theories, and may include books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. These resources are authoritative sources of information, but are easier to read compared to research articles published in journals.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccess restricted to 5 concurrent users only. Contains a range of engineering material including Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and many other engineering titles in the following subject areas: Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Communications, Construction, Electrical, Energy, Environmental, Industrial, Material Science, Mechanical, Nanotechnology and Optical.
- Knovel library This link opens in a new windowAn extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASHRAE, ASM, ASME, DIPPR and NACE. It includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines, reference handbooks, and conference proceedings.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles, book titles, including major reference works series with a focus on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and to a lesser extent social sciences and the humanities.
Mechanics of Civil Engineering Structures by Publication Date: 2021
New Materials in Civil Engineering by Publication Date: 2020
Popular Magazines
Browsing popular magazines in your research field can be a great way to keep up to date with new developments, and introduce yourself to new concepts and topics you may not be familiar with. Below are some magazines published by various professional societies related to Civil Engineering.
Note: These magazines are not peer-reviewed journals, and cannot be used as a scholarly/academic source in your research
- Browzine This link opens in a new windowUse BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from Monash University Library, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines.
Civil Engineering Magazine by Publication Date: 1930 - Present
New Civil Engineer by Publication Date: 1972 - Present