Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For a more comprehensive list of databases related to your specific subject area select the link in the contents box on the left.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.
Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.
Includes full text
CINAHL plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus, an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, provides indexing for 1,000s of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health (17 allied health disciplines in all) with indexing back to 1937. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database. Underlying Emcare's precise indexing is the Emtree thesaurus, and Ovid offers multiple tools to take advantage of this indexing.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
Taylor & Francis online This link opens in a new window
Portal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which provides access to thousands of e-books and journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science from well known publishers such as Routledge, CRC Press, Chapman and Hall, Ashgate, Psychology Press, Longman and Heinemann. Searches can be filtered to Library subscribed content only. The site also hosts a growing collection of Open Access content.
Informit search This link opens in a new window
Searches only Informit full text databases
Provides access to specialised databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. ...
Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Monash University staff and students
This resource is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support database designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes; links to full text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and to a number of medical calculators. It is written, reviewed and continuously updated by physicians to ensure that the content remains current.
Embase via Ovid (1947 to present) This link opens in a new window
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology. Embase adds over 1 million records annually.
Google scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Google Scholar (EZproxy)
Journal title abbreviations