Databases by Subject: Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

To access the Introduction and Credits modules, right click and select 'Open in a new tab'.
an@tomedia is a unique way to learn about the anatomy of the human body. It is a comprehensive, self-paced learning program that explores anatomy from four different perspectives. These perspectives teach you how the body is constructed (from regions and systems) and how you can deconstruct the body (with dissection and imaging techniques). The four perspectives are: 1. Regions: includes surface and functional anatomy; 2. Systems: includes conceptual and clinical anatomy; 3. Dissection: includes practical procedures and post-mortem, and 4. Imaging: includes sectional and endoscopic anatomy. There are nine modules, and each module covers the equivalent of 40 hours of course contact time. The interactive text, image overlays, labels and clinical questions are optional and allow you to explore anatomy at any level of difficulty.

CINAHL Complete indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology. CINAHL Complete includes 1,314 journals with searchable cited references.

The Cochrane Library, produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Cochrane Library is a key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research.

Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology. Embase adds over 1 million records annually.

Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.

Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)

This bibliographic database provides periodical article citations and abstracts from over 800 pharmaceutical and health related journals worldwide. Major areas of coverage include: drug reactions, toxicity, investigational drugs, drug evaluations, drug interactions, biopharmaceuticals, pharmaceuticals, drug stability, pharmacology, preliminary drug testing, pharmaceutical chemistry, drug analysis, drug metabolism, pharmacognosy, and methodology.

A journal that comprises structured abstracts of original research articles and systematic reviews from over 100 clinical journals. Content of articles selected is based on explicit criteria, followed by an assessment of its relevance to medical practice. Published by the American College of Physicians, articles reviewed focus on more common diseases and conditions. From 1995 to 2002, includes some content of the UK publication, Evidence Based Medicine. Also available as part of EBM Reviews. Full text links in the references allow you to explore the evidence in the primary source. Full text references link you to other full text documents within the database, as well as to bibliographic databases such as MEDLINE. Bi-directional linking allows you to link from MEDLINE to documents in the same collection or to journals available in Ovid Full Text.
• Includes full text
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

See: Australian medicines handbook

Ten concurrent users only

The AMH Aged Care Companion (ACC) is primarily intended for health care professionals, particularly general practitioners, nurses and pharmacists, working in aged care settings. Conditions are included because they are commonly encountered, or have special considerations in older people. Content for the online version is regulalry updated.

Ten concurrent users only
The Children's Dosing Companion contains over 200 drug monographs with evidence-based doses for children up to 18 years of age. It will be updated electronically every six months.

This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Note: AMI is no longer updated, and coverage is from 1968-Dec. 2009.
• Includes full text

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
• Includes full text

Australian bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. Subject coverage includes the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Source documents include a wide range of journals, newspapers, conference papers and books.

AusDI (formerly Catalyst) database provides quick and easy access to the popular AusDi Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information, consumer medicine information leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module and convenient links to drug interaction systems, of interest to Australian pharmacists and other health care professionals

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport

Australian Medicines Handbook's mission is to provide concise practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. The company is independent of both government and the pharmaceutical industry, and maintains its editorial independence through an editorial board, highly skilled editorial staff and an open peer review process.--About AMH website.
• Includes full text

Full-text handbooks and monographs covering topics including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
• Includes full text

Users need to create a personal account
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.

The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts.
• Includes full text On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

CHEMnetBASE provides access to the major chemical reference works published by Chapman & Hall/CRC. It includes several chemical dictionaries structured as searchable databases.
• Includes full text

CINAHL Plus provides indexing for over 4,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. CINAHL Plus also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records.
• Includes full text

A bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care. Through extensive handsearching and searching of databases such as Medline and EMBASE, the Cochrane Collaboration creates CENTRAL, providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

A good starting point for information on the effects of health care, particularly therapeutic interventions. Includes over 1,700 full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
• Includes full text

On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.
• Includes full text

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques. -- About CSH Protocols webpage.
• Includes full text

The combined chemical dictionary is a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The online version contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (240,000 records); Dictionary of natural Products (155,000 records); Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (100,000 records); Dictionary of pharmacological agents (38,000 records); and Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).
• Includes full text

Registered users have to log in to Cortellis with their Monash University email and Cortellis password. First time MU users have to register to gain access to Cortellis

Cortellis Drug Discovery Intelligence focuses on pharma and drug development, combining essential biological, chemical and pharmacological data from disparate sources into a single platform. Clarivate refers to it as the next generation of Integrity; it has the same trusted content as Integrity, but with enhanced performance and features.

Over 4,000 structured abstracts, including commentary, of systematic reviews relating to the effects of healthcare interventions. Prepared by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, UK, reviews of high methodological quality are identified by searching databases, handsearching major medical journals, selected websites and grey literature. DARE is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
• Includes full text

On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

A database contining concise chemical and bibliographic data of 25,000 compounds most commonly used by chemists. Covers organic compounds, inorganic compounds, drugs, natural products, materials, alloys, and the elements and their isotopes.
• Includes full text

Contains over 40,000 drugs and pharmacological agents and represents a valuable resource for medicinal and pharmaceutical chemists. Coverage includes all currently marketed drugs, pharmacological tools, compounds in the later stages of clinical trials and pharmaceutical excipients. Its standard features include concise chemical data, accurately drawn structure diagrams and bibliographic information. All of this information is readily searchable.
• Includes full text

A comprehensive database of 170,000 natural products which includes: names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, extensive source data, uses and applications, physical state, melting point, boiling point, pKa, and key literature citations, as well as a comprehensive type of compound classification scheme which brings together compounds that are biogenetically related. All information is searchable by text or by substructure.
• Includes full text

Contains concise chemical, structural, and bibliographic information on over 255,000 of the most important organic compounds. These have been selected by an international team of experts in the field of modern organic chemistry and cover a wide range of commonly used chemicals, synthetic reagents, pesticides, starting materials, and simple fundamental compounds, plus a selection of natural products, pharmaceuticals, and analytical reagents. Data provided includes names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry numbers, physical properties, and key literature citations. All the information is readily searchable.
• Includes full text

From the DMP interface, users can register for remote access. Once the app is downloaded users can authenticate the app using the link they were sent when they registered.

DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals. It contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, and other health care professionals. The new DynaMed Plus version has greater scope and functionality with overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, direct links to article references in full text, and mobile access. It is updated multiple times daily to ensure currency.

Searchable peer-reviewed clinical guidelines. Topics include: 1. Therapeutic Guidelines -- Analgesic, Antibiotic, Cardiovascular, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastrointestinal, Neurology, Oral and Dental, Palliative Care, Psychotropic, Respiratory, and Rheumatology. 2. Management Guidelines -- Developmental Disability.
• Includes full text

Covers health policy and administration, health services, economic issues, mental health and illness, pregnancy, birth, mortality, morbidity, health education and promotion and ethical aspects such as abortion, euthanasia and reproductive technologies, as they relate to the health and well being of Australian families and individuals. Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, Health & Society is a subset of the Family database and indexes articles from published and unpublished materials, such as journals, conference papers, book chapters, government publications, theses, etc. Coverage: 1957 to present

Database covers Australasian health information, providing full text access to core content from the region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. A significant proportion of the content is unavailable online elsewhere, and includes journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.

"The Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions)... Many different types of research are included in the HTA database, including systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations."--Database guide.

On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

This bibliographic database provides periodical article citations and abstracts from over 800 pharmaceutical and health related journals worldwide. Major areas of coverage include: drug reactions, toxicity, investigational drugs, drug evaluations, drug interactions, biopharmaceuticals, pharmaceuticals, drug stability, pharmacology, preliminary drug testing, pharmaceutical chemistry, drug analysis, drug metabolism, pharmacognosy, and methodology.

Martindale provides reliable, unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines used throughout the world. Based on published information and extensively referenced, Martindale develops as the body of knowledge on existing drugs grows. The most clinically relevant and appropriate information is evaluated and selected from reliable published sources. Includes: summaries for proprietary products from 40 countries; cross-referenced overviews of diseases and drugs used in their treatment, along with key references.

ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,900 publications with more than 1,575 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.--Publisher product description.

See: Ovid MEDLINE

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.--About page.
• Includes full text

For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this ... is available online from RSC Publishing. The Merck index online offers the same information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs, including historic records not available in the print edition

Micromedex 2.0 provides evidence-based information related to drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Monash University library has access to selected Micromedex databases: DRUGDEX System, Martindale, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, Alternative Medicine, Interaction Checking, Imprint Codes in Indentidex, and Index Nomimum.
• Includes full text

Provides access to the full MIMS database of abbreviated and full information (including OTC) on prescription and non-prescription drugs available in Australia. Alerts are provided for interactions between medicines, food, health conditions and patient allergies, and full colour product identification pictures are available. The Drug Interactions module references the most current international primary and tertiary literature on potential drug to drug interactions, and warns healthcare providers if the drugs being used by a patient or prescribed to a patient may interact with each other.

Gives up-to-date information on most every herbal and dietary supplement used in the western world, with extensive search features to find the use, adverse effects, interactions, safety, and effectiveness of each natural medicine.

Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Elsevier’s Embase database. Underlying Emcare's precise indexing is the Emtree thesaurus, and Ovid offers multiple tools to take advantage of this indexing.

Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

A database containing over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

RURAL, a bibliographic database produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, covered a range of areas including rural medical practices, indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, the practice and educational needs of health care providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. There is international coverage of journal articles, and some conference and discussion papers. Coverage: 1966 to December 2017.

Monash University staff and students
This resource is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support database designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes; links to full text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and to a number of medical calculators. It is written, reviewed and continuously updated by physicians to ensure that the content remains current.

Only one user at a time - please log off after use
The United States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary (USPNF) is a database of public pharmacopeia standards for chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, compounded preparations, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. It is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF).

An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Coverage from 1926-present.