Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.
Business collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The Business Collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.
EBSCOhost research databases This link opens in a new window
Portal to full text and/or bibliographic EBSCOhost databases (Monash University Library current subscriptions are displayed). Databases are sourced from leading information providers, and subject coverage is multi-disciplinary.
Econlit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
EconLit, from the American Economic Association, is a pre-eminent source of references to economic literature with citations and abstracts from a variety of journal literature beginning in 1886. EconLit uses the JEL (Journal of Economic Literature) classification system and controlled vocabulary of keywords to index journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and full-text book reviews. Monthly updates.
Gale academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale academic OneFile provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN, NPR and CBC. It includes more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals (more than 8,000 in full text), and major reference sets including Gale Encyclopaedia of Science and Encyclopaedia of World Biography. Full-text of the New York Times from 1985, the Times (London) from 1985 and the Financial Times from 1996 is also available.
Global financial development database This link opens in a new window
Global Development Finance database provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the Debtor Reporting System (DRS). [It] is the sole repository for statistics on the external debt of developing countries derived from loan-by-loan records. This edition of GDF presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of 128 individual countries that report to the World Bank's Debtor reporting System (DRS). Global Development Finance is an annual publication, which includes a narrative account of recent trends with tables summarizing the capital flows and debt statistics for reporting countries. The database covers more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 128 countries with data from 1970 to 2008.
Global economic monitor This link opens in a new window
Global Economic Monitor provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform. Data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices ...
International historical statistics This link opens in a new window
International Historical Statistics is a ... collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania ... This new release updates the last print edition of International Historical Statistics, which was published in 2007 in 3 volumes. It now includes 260 years of rich data, collected between 1750-2010 and available online for the first time. Users will find the ability to conduct statistical analysis across both time and geopolitical boundaries particularly valuable. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.
NBER working papers This link opens in a new window
A database of the full text of working papers published by the U.S. National Bureau of Economic Research. It can be searched by keyword or browsed by Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) class or NBER Program. NBER undertakes four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behaviour, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
OECD Library This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for books, papers and statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters. OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently (October 2010) 1,000 journal issues, 2,900 working papers, 2,500 multi-lingual summaries, 6,200 e-book titles, 14,000 tables and graphs, 21,000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Web of science -- all databases This link opens in a new window
Web of Science All Databases enables cross searching of leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, and navigation of the full citation network hosted on the WoS platform.
Databases are: Web of Science core collection; Current contents; Data citation index; Medline; SciELO citation index ; Russia science citation index; Biological abstracts; BIOSIS previews, and KCI-Korean Journal Database.
World Bank e-Library This link opens in a new window
The World Bank eLibrary is one of the most comprehensive collections in the area of international development, including social, human, and economic development. It is a fully cross-searchable portal to thousands of World Bank titles, including country and regional data from World Development Indicators series along with books, flagship reports, working papers and journals published by the World Bank. The eLibrary also offers a variety of tools and enhanced functionality for users, including full text search with chapter-level access; citation exporting; linked references; and personal accounts for saving search results, and more.
World databank This link opens in a new window
The World Bank is now providing free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe.
World development indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for over 200 economies with data back to 1960.