Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
L’Année philologique : bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquit grco-latine.
A database published by the Societe Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of Eric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association. Contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Multiple possibilities for searching are available: by modern authors, by full text, by ancient authors and texts, by subjects and disciplines through a multilevel index showing the different levels of classification by word(s) in the title, by publisher, by collection or by periodical.
Brill Online Books and Journals offers searching and full text access to over 175,000 book chapters and journal articles, covering mainly the humanities, social sciences, religion, history, international law and biology. Contains 248 books in field of classical studies, 10 collections and 8 journals.
Brill online reference works
Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles. Subjects covered include: History, Classical studies, Middle East and Islamic studies, International relations, Asian studies, Biblical studies, African studies, Jewish studies, Language and linguistics, and Religious studies.
Cambridge companions online
Cambridge Companions online offers subject or theme based access to cross-searchable ebook collections, including Cambridge Companions' complete collection with its three sub-collections: Cambridge companions to literature and classics, Cambridge companions to philosophy, religion and culture, and Cambrige companions to music.
Loeb classical library
The digital Loeb Classical Library through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, the entire classical heritage is represented here. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in an accessible interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content. Every Loeb volume in print is included and new and revised volumes are regularly uploaded.
Library of Latin texts. Series A
"[The Library of Latin texts. Series A, formerly known as CLCLT] contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. ...
Library of Latin texts : Series B
Primarily designed for finding Latin word forms within the works in this collection. Each search-query shows the results in the context of a sentence, but from here the user can consult the whole text of the work. Texts can also be accessed through an index of author and work references. Each work that is incorporated has been the subject of a historical and literary-critical examination by the Centre Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium (or its predecessor, Cetedoc) and is accompanied by a didactical "memento" (Background on the text) which supplies chronological, bibliographical, critical and statistical information. All relevant Clavis Patrum Latinorum entries have been fully integrated.
Thesaurus linguae Graecae
The TLG digital library contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of the Byzantium in 1453, in excess of 80 million words. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
APIS : advanced papyrological information system.
"APIS links together in a single environment various sources of information about texts written on papyrus and the society that produced them. It contains descriptions of the papyri and other written materials in the collections of the participating institutions, digital images of many of these texts, and connections to databases with the texts themselves in their original languages and with bibliography about the texts"--About the Project.
Art index retrospective (EBSCOhost)
This H.W. Wilson bibliographic database cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Including content for more than 55 years of art journalism, covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications. Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 features coverage of English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Cambridge journals online
Cambridge Journals Online offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of nearly 400 leading journals, including over 200 published on behalf of learned and professional societies. Cambridge Journals Online covers a broad range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Expanded Academic ASAP
See: Academic OneFile
Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Google Scholar (EZproxy)
Humanities index retrospective : 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost)
This H.W. Wilson database indexes nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and provides access to millions of articles, including citations to books reviews. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more.
JSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source. It provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
MLA international bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Oxford bibliographies. Classics
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in Classics. Expert recommendations are made on the best works available in Classics, with concise treatment of large topics such as "Greek Art" or "Sparta" to quickly get users up to speed.
Periodicals archive online (ProQuest)
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of hundreds of scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, including some published as far back as 1770. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.
Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Includes British Humanities Index, Philosopher's Index.
Theatre in video
Includes classic theatre productions such as Andrei Serban's Medea and Electra and The Trojan women. Also all of Shakepeare's plays are included.
Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. The first three citation databases (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)) contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. The two conference proceedings citation indexes (Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)) include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields.