Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACM digital library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing the full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, and a
collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers. Also includes the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
Business source complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive collection of business resources relating to Information Technology and project management.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
See: Academic OneFile
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Gartner is an industry leading consulting firm in information technology. Database provides access to the research and advisory firm's information technology news, research reports, and business and market analysis, and includes product descriptions and comparisons, information on trends, and a calendar of upcoming conferences and events for IT managers, specialists, and business interests. Topics covered include: asset management, web services, emerging trends and technologies and regulatory compliance
Access to archival databases (AAD) This link opens in a new window
"The Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System gives you online access to electronic records that are highly structured, such as in databases. The initial release of AAD contains material from more than 30 archival series of electronic records, which include over 350 data files totaling well over 50 million unique records. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates. Some of these series serve as indexes to accessioned archival records in non-electronic formats ... AAD allows you to search for and retrieve specific records from selected series and data files over the Internet." Includes a link to search descriptions of NARA's non-electronic records through NARA's online catalogue, ARC.
Australian library and information science abstracts (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from Australian published and unpublished material on library and information science, children's literature and archives. Completed publication in 2005.
Australian and New Zealand books in print : books (Informit) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database provided booksellers and librarians with information about Australian and New Zealand books, series of books, and imprints. Ceased publication in December 2003.
Archives and records management literature in Australia and New Zealand (Informit) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database indexed articles from published material on archives administration and records management in Australia and New Zealand. Coverage: 1940-2000.
English short title catalogue This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records for over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly but not exclusively in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Engraved music, maps, and prints are excluded, although atlases and texts which are wholly engraved do appear in ESTC. Some other categories of material are excluded, for example trade cards, playbills and playing cards. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing).
Health and psychosocial instruments (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.
Humanities & social sciences collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
This largely full text collection contains peer reviewed journals, books, conference proceedings, and research papers and reports, with indexing from 1940 to the present, and full text form 1998. Topics covered include agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology with an Australasian focus.
Imagining the Internet : a history and forecast This link opens in a new window
A multi-section resource containing thousands of pages. It exposes future possibilities while simultaneously providing a look back at the past. This resource includes special explanatory sections on the future and past development of communications networks. It includes videos and audio recordings that reveal the ideas of cutting-edge thinkers such as Douglas Engelbart and Vernor Vinge as they discuss the future. It has informative areas targeted to benefit children under 12 (KidZone), and to help teachers of elementary, middle school, high school and college students use the site to educate .The site shares a look back at what people were saying in the 1990s during the "awe" stage of the development of the internet, and it records a legacy of predictive statements as they are made.
Info Sci-Books This link opens in a new window
InfoSci¿¿-Books is a fully-searchable database providing access to chapters from every book and reference work IGI Global has published since the year 2000. InfoSci¿¿-Books provides ... full-text search results from prestigious encyclopedias, handbooks of research and premier reference sources contributed by top experts in the fields of information science, medical information science, business science and engineering science.--Publisher description
Info Sci-Cases This link opens in a new window
"InfoSci-Cases (formerly IGI Teaching Case Collection) offers electronic access to all information technology teaching cases published by IGI Global in one easy-to-use online format. InfoSci-Cases is an extensive, academic, online full-text database which provides ... access to hundreds of teaching cases from IGI Global books and journals...Currently there are over 650 teaching cases available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present time and new cases are consistently added each quarter."--Overview page.
Info Sci-Journals This link opens in a new window
IGI Global's InfoSci-Journals database is an expanding full-text collection of 140+ peer-reviewed ejournals that focus on cutting-edge, specialized topics in advanced technology research as well as organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications of technology.
Internet archive This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artefacts in digital form, began in 1996. Includes the WayBackMachine for searching billions of web pages and archived web sites saved over time. Digitised books, videos, audio, software and images are also searchable.
Library literature & information science retrospective : 1905-1983 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This H.W. Wilson bibliographic database provides access to nearly 80 years of citations that document all of the advances, controversies and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship. Through this retrospective resource, librarians, educators and students have access to the knowledge and experience of decades of innovators in librarianship, covering topics ranging from cataloguing, publishing and circulation procedures to government aid, information brokers, and library associations & conferences. It indexes up to 1,500 periodicals, with citations to articles, book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses.
Library & information science abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This indexing and abstracting database provides access to over 440 library and information science periodicals from more than 68 countries. Major areas of coverage include: artificial intelligence, computer science applications, data warehousing, knowledge management, archives, management, technology, library use and users, medical information, online information retrieval, publishing and booksellers, records management, telecommunications, technical services, and the internet. Also includes book reviews. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link: http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
Library, information science & technology abstracts
Database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts This link opens in a new window
The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (RAAM) is a guide to primary research material - that is, collections of personal papers and non-governmental organisational records held by Australian libraries and archives. It is managed by the National Library of Australia, and is part of TROVE.
Scholarly communication toolkit This link opens in a new window
Provides an educational resource, [offering] librarians a central hub for background information about scholarly publishing, journal economics, digital repositories, authors' rights, and other issues in the realm of scholarly communication. Offers tools and practical resources, [including] a collection of tested and replicable tools for talking with faculty, administrators, students, and other campus stakeholders about the issues. These tools include handouts, talking points, presentations, videos, and a glossary, all designed to help librarians articulate a clear and thoughtful message about the changes needed in our scholarly communication system. [Includes] a repository [to] encourage sharing and reusing content.--About the Toolkit webpage.
Trove This link opens in a new window
The Australian National Library's Trove service helps users find and use resources relating to Australia. It provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere. Metadata is aggregated from Australian sources including: The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.
Ulrichsweb : global serials directory. This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb is an authoritative and easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, open access publications and more, from around the world. It covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains millions of records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries from around the world, including Monash University Library. Each record contains library holdings. It describes: books; book chapters; computer data files; computer programs; films and slides; journals; journal chapters; magazines; manuscripts; maps; musical scores; newspapers; sound recordings; videotapes; CDs; CD-ROMs, and more.