Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AfricaBib.org This link opens in a new window
The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). Also available is a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).
Alternative press index archive (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
"Alternative Press Index: Archive (APIA) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. APIA coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. With over 474,000 records, the APIA is an invaluable companion to the Alternative Press Index, which is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available."--Publisher description.
Aluka : building a digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. This link opens in a new window
"Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa ... The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides."--History and mission page. The three main content areas are: 1. African cultural heritage sites and landscapes. 2. African plants. 3. Struggles for freedom in Southern Africa (focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an initial concentration on six nations: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe).
Amsterdam University Press [collection] This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences.
Berg fashion library This link opens in a new window
See: Bloomsbury fashion central. Berg fashion library
Brill online This link opens in a new window
Brill Online Books and Journals offers searching and access to over 175,000 book chapters and journal articles. Brill’s publications focus on the humanities and social sciences, international law and selected areas in the sciences. In addition to its journals and books publishing programmes, Brill also offers reference works and primary source materials, including prestigious publications such as the Encyclopedia of Islam, Brill’s New Pauly and others. Note: Full text access is to subscribed content only.
Brill online reference works This link opens in a new window
Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles.
Children's leisure activities in Russia This link opens in a new window
"The material gathered here offers a unique insight into one of the most important and characteristic areas of socializing the young in early Soviet Russia, and a window into the mentality of the 'first Soviet generations' as well. Play was used, as methodological guides for nursery-school teachers indicate, in order to inculcate 'politically correct' attitudes. The collection gives a representative overview of the different trends in children leisure activities and games and runs chronologically from 1917 to the late 1930s. It includes books published in the provinces as well as in Moscow and Leningrad, and offers a spread of material covering different age groups, from pre-schoolers to pre-teens. Many of the items included are now extremely rare. The collection contains material on children's games and other leisure activities, the New Year and other holidays, theater, radio and cinema."--Publisher description.
Cult of body : sports and physical culture in Russia, 1891-1919. This link opens in a new window
This collection is particularly significant because sports provided opportunities for transitions from tradition to modernity: athletic competition broke down class barriers, brought women into public spaces, and encouraged new modes of behavior and self-presentation.
E-korean studies = Han'gukhak teit'o peisu
Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education.
Early Russian cinema
"... [a] unique collection of Russian film periodicals published during the last decade of the tsarist regime. The collection includes sophisticated, bimonthly periodicals as well as more popular weeklies released by the major Russian film studios. Containing, amongst others, interviews with movie stars and screenplays that are now irretrievably lost, these journals will prove an invaluable source of information for anyone interested in the silent movie era and Russia's entertainment industry at the eve of the Revolution."--Publisher description.
Eighteenth century collections online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.
Encyclopedia of food and culture
Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Entries range from 250 to 10,000 words each and are supplemented by 400 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of modern Asia This link opens in a new window
Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally.
Ethnographic video online This link opens in a new window
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
Euro-islam This link opens in a new window
Euro-Islam.info is an active network of researchers and scholars who conduct comparative research on Islam and Muslims in Europe and the USA and disseminate key information to politicians, media, and the public. Sponsored by the Cadbury Centre at the University of Birmingham, the site is recognized in academic, political and media circles as a reliable online reference for Islam in Europe.
History culture series This link opens in a new window
History Culture Series is a multi-media content database dedicated to Korean history and culture. Developed for school use, it allows users to store and download text and photos easily and quickly.
Imperial Russia's iIlustrated press This link opens in a new window
"The illustrated weeklies gathered in this collection open a wide window on Russian cultural, social, and political life. Their editors traced the sweep of the Russian imagination at the apogee of Russian cultural power from the peak years of Dostoevsky and Tolstoy to the modernist era and the chaos of 1917. They captured imperial expansion, cultural innovation, high fashion, graphic arts, performing arts, grand funerals and anniversaries, occasions of state, wonders of science, and domestic and foreign politics. In addition, the weeklies inscribed the changing image of Russia's great cities, its landscapes, and its multinational citizenry, together with literary life and a visual and verbal chronicle of all and sundry occasions and events."--Publisher description. Includes titles: Iskry (1900-1917), Sinii Zhurnal (1910-1918), Zhivopisnaia Rossiia (1901-1905), Russkaia illustratsiia (1915), and Vseobshchii Zhurnal (1910-1912).
International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
[A database] for the study of theatre and the performing arts. [It] was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. [The database] contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books and monographs.--Publisher description.
International encyclopedia of marriage and family
Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages. Includes articles specific to countries and religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.).
Jewish theater under Stalinism online : Moscow State Jewish Theater (GOSET) and Moscow State Jewish Theater School (MGETU), 1916-1950 This link opens in a new window
Collection of archival documents containing material that describes the history of Soviet culture and theater, Jewish avant-garde art and the Kremlin's policy toward Jewish society and culture from 1919 until 1949. The collection contains correspondence with ministries, state organizations, and authors; administrative-managerial documents; plays performed by or submitted to the theater (many of which have never been published); notes written by the censors; musical items for productions; press clippings about the theater; posters, programs and librettos; photographs of GOSET productions and of the actors off-stage.
Korean history & culture research database = Han'guk yoksa munhwa chosa charyo deitobeisu This link opens in a new window
Korean History & Culture Research Database is a full-text collection of excavation reports of historical sites in Korea operated by national and university museums and private research institutions and associations since 1910. It also contains research papers, reports, catalogs, and maps related to Korean geography, history, folklore, and architecture.
Mass media in Russia, 1908-1918
"The newspapers document mass culture in Imperial Russia and include writings on social questions, tabloid sensationalism and popular fiction. The success of the kopeck newspapers of St. Petersburg and Moscow before and during the First World War represents the culmination of a reading revolution that reshaped urban Russians' understanding of every aspect of life, from gender relations and national identity to the role of literature and the arts in society. The collection consists of complete runs of the kopeck (penny) newspapers, the most widely circulated newspapers in the beginning of the twentieth century, published under various titles in St. Petersburg and Petrograd (1908-1918) and also in Moscow (1909-1918)."--Publisher description.
Asia and the West : diplomacy and cultural exchange This link opens in a new window
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, are sourced from the British Library and other institutions. Curation is by experts in British arts history. Covers more than a century, and encompasses both the Georgian and Victorian theatre ... The collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art[s] world and includes manuscripts and musical compositions as well as documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records. It offers scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the world of the arts in Britain.--About.
PictureAustralia This link opens in a new window
PictureAustralia is now incorporated into the Australian National Library's Trove service. Filter search to images, maps and artifacts for distributed searching of pictorial images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia. Participants include National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial, Australia Heritage Commission, National Archives of Australia and others. These images cover all areas of Australiana, featuring people, places, events and objects.
Popular literature, fiction and songs in Russia online This link opens in a new window
This collection illustrates the chief genres of Russian popular literature and includes chivalric tales, historical fiction and updated fairy tales, as well as stories of adventure, banditry, detectives, success, war and empire, women and gender. The collection also includes rags-to-riches tales of social mobility, adventures set in Siberia and the Caucasus, and the stories of the occult world of wizards and sorceresses. Taken together, these lively texts illustrate changing stereotypes of gender, ethnicity, and social class. The collection follows the evolution of the Russian language in its popular commercial print form.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes all tites of these newspapers. Observer (London, England) (1791- ) and The Manchester guardian and British volunteer (1925-1828), Manchester guardian (Manchester, England : 1828) (1828-1959), Guardian (Manchester, England) (1959- ).
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Washington Post (1877-2004) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (1877-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Individual issues can be selected or the complete range can be searched by subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. An abstract is provided for each article cited in the database.
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
ProQuest historical newspapers. Times of India (1838-2010) This link opens in a new window
The Times of India (1838-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1839-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current).
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
Reason in revolt : source documents of Australian radicalism This link opens in a new window
Reason in Revolt brings together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource. The Reason in Revolt website is an expanding record of the movements, institutions, venues and publications through which radicals sought to influence Australian society. The website is hosted at the University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre and sustained through partnership with the Australian Society for the Study of Labour History, Melbourne branch.
Rock's backpages : the ultimate library of rock music writing and journalism This link opens in a new window
Rock's Backpages is an online archive of rock & roll journalism, sourced from contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. It contains legendary interviews, classic features, and ground-breaking reviews by rock writers, as printed in major magazines of the era from the USA and the UK - such as Creem and Trouser Press, Rolling Stone, New Musical Express, Melody Maker and MOJO. The articles are full text and can be searched by artist, writer, date, genre and keyword, allowing search by album or single title, date etc. A library of audio interviews is also included, plus podcasts.
Russian avant-garde online This link opens in a new window
This collection represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. It comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940.
Russian theater in the early 20th century online This link opens in a new window
IE or Firefox browser preferred
This collection of theatre periodicals provides a detailed picture of metropolitan and provincial Russian theatre, and reflects the cultural life in Russia at the turn of the 20th century. These periodicals contain, as well as articles, reviews, theatre repertoires, librettos, documentary materials, announcements and advertisements. The collection is a unique source for a wide range of scholars in the fields of history, cultural studies, theatre history and sociology.
Screen and stage online : the Russian cinematographic and theater press, 1889-1919. This link opens in a new window
Prefer Firefox or IE browser
This database is a unique collection of Russian theatre and film periodicals, which also includes material on other forms of entertainment and mass culture in pre-revolutionary Russia. The collection consists of various types of material ranging from sophisticated journals to cheaply produced magazines published in the last three decades of the Tsarist regime. It covers all strata of urban society and their response to new and traditional art forms as theatre and cinema.
Sixties : primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974. This link opens in a new window
"The Sixties ... brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary ... Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement."--Publisher description.
Soviet cinema online : archival documents from RGALI, 1923-1935. This link opens in a new window
The documents in this Brill collection cover the period when state monopoly control over the Soviet cinema industry - production, distribution and exhibition - was being established between 1923 and 1935. The collection contains administrative, personnel and financial records, transcripts of meetings, statistical reports, documents related to film export, film import, and film production, reviews, film repertoire, etc. The list and contents of the documents in this collection is shaped by the fact that Soviet cinematography was the target of focused official policies.
Soviet cinema online : film periodicals, 1918-1942. This link opens in a new window
This Brill collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers, 1918-42, reflecting a most productive period in the history of Russian film. These publications shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics. They also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life. Film magazines and newspapers featured articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists.
Twentieth century advice literature : North American guides on race, sex, gender, and the family. This link opens in a new window
"Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family allows students and researchers to immerse themselves in the values and behaviors of Americans of the past. The collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave."--Publisher description.
Ukrainian publications (UDB-UKR) This link opens in a new window
"Content from Ukraine's leading periodicals, covering a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs, some with archives from 1997. Titles and back issues are added on a regular basis. Includes publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian Book Chamber's editions, which list everything published in Ukraine with detailed bibliographic description."--Publisher description.
Underground and independent comics This link opens in a new window
Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines. At completion, this collection will include more than 100,000 pages of materials, including 75,000 pages of primary materials, and more than 25,000 pages of materials about comics--interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism--from The Comics Journal and other secondary sources.
Vogue archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
World Digital Library (WDL) This link opens in a new window
The WDL will make available on the Internet significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials.
World of children in the USSR : Artek Pioneer Camp Archives, 1944-1967 online This link opens in a new window
Edge or Firefox browser preferred
The documents in this database provide an insight into everyday life and mentality of Soviet children. It reflects the recreation camp's history in the period between 1944 and 1967, and contains government documents on Soviet social and health policies, administrative, medical and financial records, transcripts of meetings, materials on educational and ideological work carried out in the camp statistical reports, food rations and provision standards, letters from Soviet and foreign children, diaries, and more.
Yearbook of the Imperial theaters online This link opens in a new window
Edge or Firefox browser preferred
This annual periodical, published by the Directors of the Imperial Theatres in St. Petersburg during the period 1890-1915, offers a wealth of material concerning the late imperial stage in Russia. Its pages include repertoires, critical essays and reviews of theatrical performances, chronicles of metropolitan theatre life, articles discussing a wide range of topics as well as information about the actors. Obituaries, anniversary essays and reports of the activities of the Theatre and Literary Committee are also recorded.
YouTube Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
The Library of Congress stores millions of films, broadcasts and sound recordings dating from the earliest Edison films to the present, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube. Films and videos are being progressively uploaded to this free site, starting off with the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison.