Collection overview
Reflecting research which has been undertaken at Monash University, the main subject areas covered by the collection are Ukrainian, Russian and other literatures, Slavic linguistics as well as Translation Studies topics in Slavic languages. Other strengths of the collection include histories of Russia and Eastern Europe, politics and art. There are also many reference texts such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. Monash University Library has the best collection of materials in Australia pertaining to Ukrainian Studies.
The books and journals in the collection are mainly in Ukrainian, Russian, Polish, Serbian and Croatian. There are also titles in other Slavic languages.
While materials in Slavic languages are held at the Matheson Library, materials relating to Slavic studies in English and other languages are held elsewhere in the Library, including Special Collections and at Caulfield Library.
The Ada Booth benefaction has also enabled the Library to purchase several electronic databases pertaining to Ukrainian and Russian Studies. This includes funding a digitisation project of the entire print run of Советское Здравоохранение [Sovetskoe Zdravookhranenie] (Soviet Healthcare), in collaboration with East View Information Services, which has been made Open Access and available to researchers globally.
View digitised items from the Ada Booth Collection by visiting Monash Collection Online.
Some of the databases made available through the Ada Booth benefaction
For a full list of databases relating to Slavic and Eastern European Studies refer to the Databases by Subject Library Guide.
- American bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian studies (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Central and Eastern European online library This link opens in a new window
- Secret files from world wars to Cold War This link opens in a new window
History of the collection
The Ada Booth Slavic Collection was established in 2011 as a result of the Library being named the beneficiary of the estate from the will of the late Ada Phyllis Booth (1921-2008), physicist and lecturer at the University of Melbourne.
The collection's ongoing development, including the purchase of electronic and other resources relating to Slavic studies, is funded through this benefaction.
The Library also received the large collection of Slavic language books which Ms Booth had collected over her life. These items, together with the Library's Slavic language materials built up over many years, and all new purchases of such material, now go to this collection.
Visit the collection
The Ada Booth Slavic Collection is located on Level 1 in the Sir Louis Matheson Library, Clayton.
Use Search to discover materials in the collection and search for "Ada Booth Collection".
Items in the collection are available for loan.
For any questions regarding the Slavic collection, research in Slavic Studies or to suggest a purchase please contact: Deanna Ramsey, Ada Booth Bequest Librarian