South Slavic Studies
South Slavic Studies cover studies in Slovenian, Serbian, Croatian, Bosnian, Macedonian, Bulgarian and Montenegrin.
Online resources
- Антологија српске књижевностиThe digital edition of the Anthology of Serbian Literature has more than 130 works from medieval scripts to contemporary authors. All the books of this digital edition are available for download in Serbian language and in Cyrillic script.
- Матица српскаThe Matica Srpska is the oldest cultural-scientific institution of Serbia and publishes a number of scholarly journals, including Летопис Матице српске (Letopis Matice Srpske), Зборник Матице српске за славистику (Matica Srpska Journal of Slavic Studies) and Зборник Матице српске за књижевност и језик (Matica Srpska Journal of Literature and Language). Issues are available online as free pdf from about 2005 onwards. Monash University Library holds physical copies of these publications.
- Portal digitaliziranih starih hrvatskih časopisaOld Croatian Journals is the central portal that provides access to digitised Croatian journals from the collections of National and University Library in Zagreb and other heritage institutions in Croatia.
- Digitalni akademski repozitorij (DAR)Managed by the University of Zagreb and other Croatian universities, this digital academic repository contains digitized theses from 1880-1952 as well as eTheses from 1986 onwards.
- Serbica.frFrench Portal on Serbian Literature
- Digitalna knjižnica SlovenijeDigital Library of Slovenia. Includes a very extensive range of digitized material. Website in Slovenian, but the interface is also available in English.
- Дигитална Народна библиотека Србије - Digital National Library of SerbiaThe Digital National Library of Serbia has digitised and made available a number of historic Serbian newspapers and journals.
- Besplatne elektroničke knjige [BEK]This project offers free eBooks in Croatian from contemporary, upcoming and classical authors.
- MontenegrinaDigital Library of Montenegrin culture, available in Montenegrin with limited information available in English and Russian. Includes historical documents and photographs and other digitized material.
- Narodna biblioteka SrbijeNational Library of Serbia, available in Serbian (Cyrillic or Latin alphabet) and English.
- Nacionalna i sveučilišna knjižnica u ZagrebuNational and University Library in Zagreb. Website available in Croatian and English, but the digital collections are only accessible through the Croatian version at this stage.
- Nacionalna i univerzitetska biblioteka Bosnia i HercegovinaNational and University Library of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Website in Bosnian.
- Национална Библиотека на Република БългарияNational Library of Republic of Bulgaria, website available in Bulgarian and English, but only the Bulgarian version is updated regularly.
- Национална и универзитетска библиотека „Св. Климент Охридски“-СкопјеNational and university library "St. Kliment Ohridski"-Skopje, Republic of Macedonia, website available in Macedonian and English. Includes a digital library and links to Macedonian e-libraries as well as to Е-CRIS (Electronic Current Research Information System) - Information system for research activity in Macedonia.
- Hrvatski Državni ArhivThe Croatian State Archives in Zagreb (CSA) is the central archival institution in the Republic of Croatia.
- Архив Републике Српске, Arhiv Republike SrpskeArchives of the Republic of Srpska (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
- Архив СрбијеArchives of Serbia
- Arhiv Republike SlovenijeArchive of the Republic of Slovenia
- Државен архив на Република МакедонијаState Archives of the Republic of Macedonia
- Държавна агенция "Архиви" (ДАА)State Agency Archives (Bulgaria)
- Državni Arhiv Crne GoreState Archives of Montenegro
Physical resources
Речник српскохрватског књижевног и народног језикаPublication Date: 1959 - presentRečnik srpskohrvatskog književnog i narodnog jezika
On Macedonian matters - from the partition and annexation of Macedonia in 1913 to the present : a collection of essays on language, culture and history by ISBN: 9783866885349Publication Date: 2015
The Balkans : nationalism, war and the Great Powers 1804-2012ISBN: 9781847087713Publication Date: 2012
Serbian StudiesISSN: 0742-3330
The journal of the North American Society for Serbian Studies, Serbian Studies publishes scholarly articles in all aspects of the Serbian cultural heritage, archival documents, and source material related to the Serbian immigration to North America.
Летопис Матице српскеPublication Date: 1824 - presentLetopis Matice srpske is a literary periodical with one of the longest press runs in the whole world. The most recent issues are available online from the website of the Матица српска, the Monash University Library holds physical copies.
