Skip to Main Content

Slavic & Eastern European Studies: Home

A guide to Slavic Studies resources at Monash University Library, including the Ada Booth Slavic Collection

Welcome

Welcome to the Slavic Studies Library Guide! This guide is designed to help you locate resources related to Eastern European, Soviet and Communist Studies, and Ukrainian Studies within the Monash University Library Collections and in collections held at other institutions. Many of the resources relating to Slavic Studies have been made available thanks to funding from the Ada Booth Benefaction

For any questions regarding the Slavic collection, research in Slavic Studies or to suggest a purchase please get in contact with:

Deanna Ramsey - Ada Booth Bequest Librarian

Rare books

Ada Booth Rare Collection

Rare and fragile materials relating to Slavic and Eastern European Studies are housed in the Library's Special Collections collection and can be requested for viewing in the Library's Special Collections Reading Room.

The Ada Booth Rare Collection holds rare and unique materials relating to Slavic, Eastern European and Eurasian Studies as well as left-wing politics and Communist Studies. The collection includes original Bolshevik and Soviet political posters, propaganda and original avant-garde editions.

The rare collection focuses in particular on: Slavic Australiana, the works and art produced by diaspora and emigres, twentieth century materials to do with resistance and the underground, the history of women, health, motherhood, and everyday life within the Slavic regions.

Monash authors related to Slavic Studies

Marko Pavlyshyn, Emeritus Professor, Ukrainian Studies. 

Founding president of the Ukrainian Studies Association of Australia (1990-1998), its vice-president (1998-2013), and a member of the committee of the International Association for Ukrainian Studies (1990-1998). President of the Australia and New Zealand Slavists’ Association (1998-2003) and President of the Shevchenko Scientific Society in Australia since 1998.

Marko Pavlyshyn was awarded an Order of Merit by the President of Ukraine in 2019 for his outstanding achievements in the field of Ukrainian culture. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities and an International Member of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine.

Alessandro Achilli Lecturer in Ukrainian Studies at Monash University (2017-2020)

Current Senior assistant professor in Slavic Studies at the University of Cagliari, Italy, and Vice President of the Ukrainian Studies Association of Australia and New Zealand. Formerly directed the Mykola Zerov Centre for Ukrainian Studies (2019-2020).

Slobodanka Vladiv-Glover, Adjunct Associate Professor, School of Languages, Literature, Cultures and Linguistics at Monash University.

President of the Australian Dostoevsky Society, chief editor of The Dostoevsky Journal: A Comparative Literature Review.