Slavic & Eastern European Studies: Russian & Belarusian Studies

Russian State Library, website in Russian and English. The 'Leninka' manages the Digital Library collection which also includes the Digital Dissertation Library.

The National Library of Russia, website available in Russian and English. Provides a great selection of digitized material and online exhibitions.

Russian research and information portal in the field of science, technology, medicine and education with abstracts and full texts of more than 19 million scientific articles and publications, including electronic versions of over 3900 Russian scientific and technical journals, with more than 2,800 journals in the public domain.

State Archive of the Russian Federation (GARF)

A large collection of Russian-related material in a range of formats and languages, established to support research in a wide range of military topics, both historical and current. It is managed by Cranfield University’s Barrington Library on behalf of the Defence Academy of the United Kingdom.
The majority of the material is in English or Russian, but there is also a considerable amount of material in other languages including Czech, Polish, German, Romanian and Albanian, as well as original language source material from Kazakhstan, Kyryzstan and Uzbekistan.

National Library of Belarus. Website in English, Belarusian, and Russian.

Archives of Belarus

The Jordan Center for the Advanced Study of Russia was established in 2011 thanks to a generous gift from the family of NYU alumni Boris and Elizabeth Jordan. The center aims to make Russia intrinsic to all aspects of scholarly investigation: from history to journalism and visual culture, politics to literature, economics to anthropology. This includes the All The Russias’ Blog, seminars, lectures, colloquiums, workshops and fellowships.

Read Russia, founded in 2012, is a new initiative - based in Moscow, New York, and London - established to celebrate Russian literature and Russian book culture. Through innovative programs, projects, and events supporting the English-language translation and publication of Russian works, Read Russia provides international audiences with fresh opportunities to engage - in person, on screen, and online - with Russia's literary leaders and heritage.

Runivers. Online library devoted to Russian culture and history.

A portal of Russian language resources and a reference service.

Online index of the Russian Scientific Societies. Can be sorted by alphabetical, chronological, subject based, or geographical order. In Russian.

National Statistical Committee of the Republic of Belarus. Website in Russian and English.

Russian Federal State Statistics Service, available in Russian and English.

Electronic Repository for Russian Historical Statistics. In Russian and English.

Soviet Samizdat Periodicals is a database of information about editions of classic Soviet samizdat, 1956-1986. The database includes approximately 300 titles, representing all known types of samizdat periodical editions from this late Soviet era, including human rights bulletins, poetry anthologies, rock zines, religious and national editions. The database is fully searchable. Researchers will find detailed bibliographic and archival information. The site also includes information about samizdat and dissidence for the general public. The website is intended to provide a forum for continuing discussion about this outstanding phenomenon of recent history.

Russian Perspectives on Islam documents the encounter and evolving relationship between the secular/Orthodox state and the Islamic regions, groups, individuals, and ideologies on the territory of the former Soviet Union and neighboring countries.