East View provides access to digital archives, newspapers, popular and scholarly periodicals, government documents, and other materials from Russia, Ukraine and former Soviet states, China and East Asia. Resources are in native and translated languages, with a transliteration feature included.
Includes databases such as the Russian Central Newspapers, Ukrainian Publications, Soviet Woman and other digital archives, and ephemera collections for recent elections.
ABSEEES database provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage for ABSEEES ranges from 1989-present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1800+ of the world's leading arts and humanities journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Coverage is from 1975 to the present.
Online database which provides access to full text articles from humanities and social sciences journals, electronic books and re-digitised documents pertaining to Central, South-Eastern, Baltic and Eastern European topics. Most of the content comes from material published in Central and Eastern Europe and is thus in the original language (titles, abstracts and some keywords are translated into English).
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
"Mass Culture & Entertainment in Russia comprises collections of extremely rare, and often unique, materials that offer a stunning insight into the dynamics of cultural and daily life in imperial and Soviet Russia. The series is organized along six thematic lines that together cover the full spectrum of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Russian culture, ranging from the penny press and high-brow art journals in pre-Revolutionary Russia, to children's magazines and publications on constructivist design in the early Soviet Union."--Publisher description.
Mass culture and entertainment in Russia has now been relocated to Brill Online Primary Sources. Slavic and Eurasian studies. It is not a discreet collection anymore, but all collections which were available within the collection of Mass culture and entertainment in Russia are now available on this new platform.
ASEES is a refereed journal which publishes scholarly articles, review articles and short reviews on all aspects of Slavonic and East European studies, in particular, language, literature, history and political science, and also art and social science.
The peer-reviewed quarterly journal Canadian-American Slavic Studies is edited and published to provide information about Slavic and East European (including Albania, Hungary and Romania) culture, past and present, in a scholarly context.
Launched in 2008, the Australian and New Zealand Journal of European Studies (NZ ISSN 1176-7758 & AUS ISSN 1836-1803) is the only journal published in Australia and New Zealand that is solely devoted to European affairs.On this page you can find previous issues of the Australia and New Zealand Journal of European Studies.
Created in 1993, REESWeb is the Virtual Library covering Russia and Eastern Europe. In its history, REESWeb has sought to help users identify high quality web content that is located in or focuses on the region stretching from Bohemia to Central Asia.
All web sites listed in REESWeb are vetted by the editors, categorized for easy searching, and annotated to provide users with a good idea of what they will find upon visiting a site. This hands-on orientation places a high value on precision and quality in its listings rather than volume and, as such, should provide helpful to researchers, academics and casual users who want to find relevant material on the web rather than sifting through thousands of search results.
Soyuz is broadly conceived as a group of anthropologists and other scholars working in postsocialist studies. It is formally constituted as the Post-Communist Cultural Studies Interest Group of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) and is also recognized as an official unit of the Association for Slavic, East European Studies and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES formerly AAASS).
Columbia University's Harriman Institute, formerly the Russian Institute, focuses on the advancement of knowledge in the field of Russian, East European, and Eurasian studies through the research conducted by its faculty, students, fellows and visiting scholars and the training of scholars and professionals. The Harriman Institute's youtube channel includes videos of their events and conferences.
GeoPortOst provides access to more than 900 hidden maps of Eastern and Southeastern Europe. The collection includes thematic maps on history, ethnography as well as the economic and social relations of this area. GeoPortOst synthesizes maps, spatial data, and semantic context within a new spatial information system.
Slavic & Eastern European call numbers
Use the following call numbers as a guide to finding relevant subject areas.