Subject guides: Business and Economics: News sources

Use this page to:

keep up with some key news sources for business and economics topics
access and search major global news databases such as Factiva.

To check availability of other newspapers or magazines, go to Search, click Journals, and search on the publication title in quotation marks, e.g. "south china morning post".

Leading Australian newspapers

The Age
Daily Victorian newspaper containing local, national and international news.
The Australian
Daily Australia-wide daily newspaper containing national and international news.
Australian Financial Review
Daily national newspaper focused on economics, finance and business news. Full text delayed for three days.

Leading international business news sources

The Economist (London)
UK weekly current affairs publication with a global focus. For the PDF version, in View Online choose the ProQuest Central option.
Financial Times
Leading UK financial and global news publication. For the Web version, in View Online, choose Financial Times. First time users need to register.
Wall Street Journal
Leading US financial and global current affairs publication. ProQuest has the most recent daily coverage of the print edition.
Wall Street Journal Online
All print and online articles from the Wall Street Journal.

Major newspaper databases- global coverage

Factiva This link opens in a new window

Searching the Factiva news database tutorial
Accessibility document for searching the Factiva news databases tutorial (DOC 498 KB)

Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world. This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Access to The Age and the Australian Financial Review. To limit a search to just the news articles on ProQuest, in the Source type filter choose Newspapers. Use the Publication title filter to further explore the results.