Subject guides: Japanese studies: Newspapers

Online dictionaries

Jisho
Powerful Japanese/English dictionary
Eijiro on the web
English/Japanese dictionary
Goo dictionary
English/Japanese/Chinese dictionaries
Yahoo! Dictionary
Dictionaries
Wikipedia Japanese
Thesaurau.com
Synonyms and antonyms

Oxford English dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. While still finding present-day meanings in the OED, users will also find the history of individual words, and of the language.
Macquarie dictionary online This link opens in a new window
The Macquarie Dictionary Online gives you access to the most up-to-date database of Australian English, with annual updates of new words, along with its companion reference the Macquarie Thesaurus.

Newspapers

Access world news : research collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection from NewsBank is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national [Australian] and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
Japan Times archives This link opens in a new window
This English language archive enables users to easily search for articles across 120 years, ranging from the inaugural issue in 1897 to December 2020. The database offers valuable historical content covering domestic and international politics, economy, culture, TV schedules, advertisements, weather forecasts and other useful topics from a Japanese perspective. Includes digitised issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.), Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times.
Maisaku This link opens in a new window
Access is restricted to one concurrent user only

Complete full-text content of Mainichi shimbun, one of the major Japanese newspapers. Covers Mainichi shimbun from 1872 onwards, Journal Shukan ekonomisuto from 1989 onwards, Mainichi daily news (in English) from 2008 onwards, Mainichi yoron sachi, 20-seiki daijiken, Mainichi shimbun shashi etc. One access only.
Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new window
Nikkei Telecom21 is Japan's largest online database on business. It provides coverage of the Japanese business and financial community through current news reports from these Japanese language newspapers: Nihon keizai shinbun, Nikkei ryūtsū shinbun MJ, Nikkei kinʼyū shinbun, Nikkei sangyō shinbun. Other resources include Nikkei corporation profile, Nikkei Who's who, stock quotations, bond quotations, economic indicators, market forecasts, and in English, Nikkei weekly and Nikkei major articles.

Japan chronicle

Japan advertiser digital archive This link opens in a new window
Under publication dropdown list for Japan Times, select Japan Advertiser, 1913-1940
The Japan Advertiser, and English-langauge daily, was a hub for news written by and for missionaries, diplomats, merchants and journalists who were based in Japan in the early half of the 20th century. With content ranging from information aimed at American and European residents to global news, The Japan Advertiser included columns focused on US and British news, as well as articles written by Japanese government officials, military officers, and well-known individuals, and letters from readers.
Japan news digital archive (1955 - 2020) This link opens in a new window
Launched in 1955, The Japan News is an English-language daily. Known by several different names during its history, the Japan News adopted its current name in 2013 as part of a major revamp of the newspaper’s layout and content. Established a decade after the end of World War II, the Japan News has witnessed and recorded dramatic changes in Japanese society during the Showa, Heisei and Reiwa eras. Over the years, Japan has undergone several major transformations, including rapid economic growth, the bubble economy and its collapse, and lingering recessions - all of which have been captured in the pages of the Japan News.

Two major Japanese language newspapers are available in print as 縮刷版 in Asian Collections, Matheson Library.

朝日新聞 Asahi shinbun
Call Number: Matheson Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 079.52 A798; Offsite Store; Newspapers Microforms Compactus MICROFILM5924
日本経済新聞. Nihon keizai shinbun.
Call Number: Matheson Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 330.952 N691; Offsite Store

See also the Newspapers library guide

朝日新聞 Asahi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Best_Days_Of_Summer.mp4
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 079.52 A798
Publication Date: 1940 - present
Dengon Net 伝言ネット - Japanese Newsletter Victoria Library Holdings: Dec. 2004- present Language: Japanese
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 919.451 D392
The Japan news (Tokyo, Japan) Language: English by the Yomiuri shinbun Full text available online via Access World News (2001- present); ProQuest Central (2012- present); Factiva (23 February 2002- present)
Publication Date: No. 1 (Apr. 10, 1950)- present
The Japan times (Tokyo, Japan) Library Holdings: Jan. 1961 to Dec. 2015 Language: English Full text available online via The Japan Times Archives (1897-2018); Factiva (1 January 2002- present)
Call Number: Offsite Store Journals and Matheson Journals Shelved by title
はんげんぱつしんぶん Han genpatsu shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 201 (Dec. 1994) to no. 285 (Dec. 2001), no. 287 (Feb. 2002) to 356 (Nov. 2007), no. 358 (Dec. 2008) to no. 360 (Mar. 2008), no.362 (May. 2008) to present
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 363.1799 H233
Publication Date: 1978- present
日本経済新聞 Nihon keizai shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: v. 46, no. 7 (July 1994) to v. 54, no. 6 (June 2002); v. 56, no. 1 (Jan. 2004) to v. 69, no. 12 (Dec. 2017) Full text available online via Nikkei Telecom 21 (1876- present), 2 access at a time
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 330.952 N691
Publication Date: 1949- present
毎日新聞 Mainichi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 535 (July 1994) to no. 630 (June 2002) Full text available online via Maisaku (1872- present), 1 access at a time; Factiva (1 May 2002- present)
Call Number: Offsite Store Journals 079.52 M217
Publication Date: 1950- present
読売新聞 Yomiuri shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 431 (July 1994) to no. 526 (June 2002) Full text available online via Factiva (1 Jan 2002- present)
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 079.52 Y54
Publication Date: 1946- present

赤旗 Akahata (Tokyo, Japan) Earlier Title: アカハタ Akahata Later Title: しんぶん赤旗 Shinbun Akahata Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 409 (Jan. 1995) to no. 414 (June 1995) ; no. 418 (Oct. 1995) to no. 435 (March 1997)
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals: 079.52 N691.1A
Publication Date: 1966 - 1997
朝日新聞 Asahi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 283 (Jan. 1943) to no. 330 (Dec. 1948) ; no. 559 (Jan. 1968) to no. 918 (Dec. 1997) ; no. 919 (Jan. 1998) to no. 1074 (Dec. 2010) ; no. 1075 (Jan. 2011) to no. 1158 (Dec 2017) Microform: MICROFILM 5924: 1888 to 1896 Full text available online via Factiva (1 January 2015- present)
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 079.52 A798
Publication Date: 1940 - present
Daily Yomiuri (Toyko, Japan) Full text available online via Infotrac newsstand (2004-2006) Language: English Notes: Continues by The Japan news (2013- present)
The Japan times (Tokyo, Japan) Library Holdings: Jan. 1961 to Dec. 2015 Language: English Full text available online via The Japan Times Archives (1897-2018); Factiva (1 January 2002- present)
Call Number: Offsite Store Journals and Matheson Journals Shelved by title
The Japan times international (Tokyo, Japan) Language: English Library Holdings: The Japan times weekly (international ed.) 1961-1987 The Japan times (weekly international ed.) 1987-1990 The Japan times (weekly overseas ed.) 1990-1998 The Japan times international 1999-2000 Full text available online via ProQuest (14 Aug 1995 to 31 Mar 2000)
毎日新聞 Mainichi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 535 (July 1994) to no. 630 (June 2002) Full text available online via Maisaku (1872- present), 1 access at a time; Factiva (1 May 2002- present)
Call Number: Offsite Store Journals 079.52 M217
Publication Date: 1950- present
日本経済新聞 Nihon keizai shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: v. 46, no. 7 (July 1994) to v. 54, no. 6 (June 2002); v. 56, no. 1 (Jan. 2004) to v. 69, no. 12 (Dec. 2017) Full text available online via Nikkei Telecom 21 (1876- present), 2 access at a time
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 330.952 N691
Publication Date: 1949- present
The Nikkei weekly (Tokyo, Japan) Earlier Title: Japan economic journal Language: English Library Holdings: v. 29, no. 1468 (Jun. 1, 1991) to v. 43, no. 2215 (Jan. 2, 2006) Notes: Continues The Japan economic journal
Call Number: Microform: MICROFILM 5683
Publication Date: 1991 - 2013
図書新聞 Tosho shinbun = The book review press (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 891 (1967) to no. 1403 (1977); incomplete
Call Number: Offsite Store Journals 028.05 T714
Publication Date: 1949- present
読売新聞 Yomiuri shinbun (Tokyo, Japan) Language: Japanese Library Holdings: no. 431 (July 1994) to no. 526 (June 2002) Full text available online via Factiva (1 Jan 2002- present)
Call Number: Asian Collections: Japanese Journals 079.52 Y54
Publication Date: 1946- present

NHK news web
NHK web easy
外国人の皆さんや、小学生・中学生の皆さんのために、わかりやすいことばでニュースを伝えます。
毎日小学生新聞 Newspaper articles for grade school students published by Mainichi Shinbun.
朝日新聞 Asahi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan)
中日新聞 Chunichi shinbun Full text available online via Factiva (2 April 2003- present) Language: Japanese
Dengon Net 伝言ネット
The Japan news (Tokyo, Japan)
The Japan times (Tokyo, Japan)
はんげんぱつしんぶん Han genpatsu shinbun (Tokyo, Japan)
日本経済新聞 Nihon keizai shinbun (Tokyo, Japan)
毎日新聞 Mainichi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan)
産経新聞 Sankei shinbun Full text available online via Factiva 大阪版 (1 May 2004- present), 東京版 (21 Jan 1997- present) Language: Japanese
読売新聞 Yomiuri shinbun (Tokyo, Japan)

The University of Melbourne

Visit the University of Melbourne, Baillieu Library. Available for walk-in users on the Library premises.

Yomidasu Rekishikan

Yomidas Rekishikan is an online database of 11 million articles covering every issue of The Yomiuri Shimbun newspaper since its first issue in 1874. The database has four parts: the Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras section contains high-quality scans of the articles as they appeared in the original print editions during these periods. The Heisei Era section presents articles in a convenient text view, and for articles since December 2008 there is a clipping view of the original article.

State Library Victoria

Visit the State Library Victoria, and how to find items in newspapers.

Japanese studies

Online dictionaries

Newspapers

Maisaku

Factiva