It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowGale academic OneFile provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN, NPR and CBC. It includes more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals (more than 8,000 in full text), and major reference sets including Gale Encyclopaedia of Science and Encyclopaedia of World Biography. Full-text of the New York Times from 1985, the Times (London) from 1985 and the Financial Times from 1996 is also available.
ProQuest centralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Central brings together many of ProQuest's most used databases to create a most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, the collection includes thousands of scholarly journals, newspapers, trade publications, magazines, dissertations, working papers, market reports and videos, all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.
EBSCOhost research databasesThis link opens in a new windowPortal to full text and/or bibliographic EBSCOhost databases (Monash University Library current subscriptions are displayed). Databases are sourced from leading information providers, and subject coverage is multi-disciplinary.
Bibliography of Asian studies (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowCitation database of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences) published worldwide since 1971 to the present. Through 1991, BAS included citations to periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Since 1992, newly published individually authored monographs are not added to the database.
ERIC via ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowThis database comprises indexes and abstracts of published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; tests, measurement and evaluation; etc.
Australian public affairs : full text (Informit)This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to the present, with full text from 1995 onwards.
Japan Times archivesThis link opens in a new windowThis English language archive enables users to easily search for articles across 120 years, ranging from the inaugural issue in 1897 to December 2020. The database offers valuable historical content covering domestic and international politics, economy, culture, TV schedules, advertisements, weather forecasts and other useful topics from a Japanese perspective. Includes digitised issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.), Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times.
Japan at war and peace, 1930-1949 : records of the U.S. State Department classified files.This link opens in a new windowThis collection covers a wide variety of topics relating to Japanese internal affairs in the period 1930 to 1949, ranging from militarism, industrialization, politics and government, the Sino-Japanese war and the home front, and labour development and unrest, to the affects of nuclear bombing of Hiroshima, disarmament and the establishment of Occupation Government.
Foreign Office files for Japan, 1919-1952.This link opens in a new windowPublished in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952: Section I, Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945. Section II, Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952. Section III, Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930. Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda.
Political relations and conflict between republican China and imperial Japan, 1930-1939This link opens in a new windowThe records in this collection relate to political relations between China and Japan for the period 1930 -1939. The records are mostly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials. There are records on: the Japanese occupation of Manchuria, beginning with the Mukden incident, in 1931; military action at Shanghai in 1932; further Japanese political and economic penetration into China, 1935-1936; and the course of the undeclared war between Japan and China, 1937-1939.
Meiji JapanThis link opens in a new windowEdward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) was one of the first Americans to live in Japan. His archive provides a comprehensive insight into the culture and society of Meiji Japan. In addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, to household construction, art and architecture. Morse devoted much of his life to the task of documenting life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization. The records also cover his work at the Imperial University of Tokyo where he taught science and was Chair of Zoology. He was a crucial figure in the initial engagement between Japan and America and his papers are also important for relations between East Asia and America in the first decades of the twentieth century.
Archives unboundThis link opens in a new windowCollection includes:
- Political relations and conflict between republican China and imperial Japan, 1930-1939
- Japan at war and peace, 1930-1949
- Japan : U.S. Naval Technical Mission, 1945-1946
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1959
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to political relations, 1930-1939
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to political relations, 1940-1944
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to political relations, 1945-1949
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1950-1954
- Japan and Korea : summation of nonmilitary activities, 1945-1948
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs, 1955-1959
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to commercial relations, 1910-1949
- Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to commercial relations, 1950-1963
- Evangelism in Japan : correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1859-1911
- Country intelligence reports on Japan.
- Japan-U.S. Economic Relations Group records, 1979-1981
- European colonialism in the early 20th century : German colonies in Asia and the Pacific : from colonialism to Japanese mandates, 1910-1929
- Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952
- Papers of Sir Ernest Mason Satow
MaisakuThis link opens in a new windowComplete full-text content of Mainichi shimbun, one of the major Japanese newspapers. Covers Mainichi shimbun from 1872 onwards, Journal Shukan ekonomisuto from 1989 onwards, Mainichi daily news (in English) from 2008 onwards, Mainichi yoron sachi, 20-seiki daijiken, Mainichi shimbun shashi etc. One access only.
FactivaThis link opens in a new windowFactiva provides full text access to Australian newspapers, and newspapers and news wires from around the world. Besides newspapers, the database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries – including continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia. Factiva also includes brief company and industry profiles, financial information for listed companies worldwide, and global coverage of financial market data.
Nikkei Telecom 21This link opens in a new windowNikkei Telecom21 is Japan's largest online database on business. It provides coverage of the Japanese business and financial community through current news reports from these Japanese language newspapers: Nihon keizai shinbun, Nikkei ryūtsū shinbun MJ, Nikkei kinʼyū shinbun, Nikkei sangyō shinbun. Other resources include Nikkei corporation profile, Nikkei Who's who, stock quotations, bond quotations, economic indicators, market forecasts, and in English, Nikkei weekly and Nikkei major articles.
Kikuzo II visual for librariesThis link opens in a new windowNote: 1 concurrent user only
A newspaper database for Asahi shinbun published from 1879 to the present. Also includes; Who's who database, Historical photo archive, Image database of pre-war Showa Period, Image database of Meiji and Taisho era, Asahi graph, and an English-language news database.