Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International law: Human rights in Australian law

Includes resources for Public international law, Private international law and Human rights.

New

Understanding human rights in Australia?

Staying up-to-date

Commentaries

Australian and New Zealand equal opportunity law and practice (CCH)

Browse in Halsbury's Laws of Australia under Title 80 - Civil & Political Rights

Search within Commentaries on Lexis Advance for topics such as :

  • Administration & Enforcement of Human Rights
  • Derogation of Rights
  • Discrimination
  • Electoral Rights
  • Freedom from Torture
  • Freedom of Association
  • Freedom of Expression
  • Freedom of Information
  • Freedom of Thought, Conscience & Religion
  • Right to a Fair Trial
  • Right to Education
  • Right to Life & Security of Person
  • Slavery & Forced Labour

Journal articles

Also search for articles on human rights more generally using AGIS Plus, CaseBase and other Law databases.

Courts & Tribunals, Cases

Human Rights Law Centre Case Law database
A collection of cases from various Australian and foreign courts, relevant to the Victorian Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities.

Victoria
Victorian Human Rights - Charter Case Collection 
The Judicial College of Victoria and the Supreme Court of Victoria have prepared this collection of Charter cases. With over six years of decisions from the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal, the Supreme Court of Victoria and the Victorian Court of Appeal, this collection will be an invaluable resource for those wishing to keep up to date with Charter principles.

Charter Case Audit (LIV)
The LIV Charter Case Audit database contains Victorian court and tribunal decisions in which issues under the Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act 2006 (Vic) (the Charter) have been raised, covering 26 September 2006 – 31 December 2014.

Victorian Anti-Discrimination Tribunal

Commonwealth
Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission Decisions 1985-2001 (AustLII)

Refugee Review Tribunal of Australia

Australian Capital Territory
Human Rights Cases of the ACT
Summaries of cases which refer to the Human Rights Act 2004 (ACT). The summaries have links to the full case description, where available. 

ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal

Discrimination Tribunal of the ACT 1998-2009 (AustLII)

Northern Territory
Northern Territory Anti-Discrimination Commission

Queensland
Queensland Human Rights Commission

South Australia
Equal Opportunity Tribunal of South Australia 2004- (AustLII)

Tasmania
Anti-Discrimination Tribunal of Tasmania 2000- (AustLII)

 

Case Citator databases - search by Catchwords, keywords or legislation judicially considered.

Casebase | FirstPoint

Treaties

Human rights treaties and Australia's participation can be found using the sources on the Treaties page.