Medicine / drug information
The following resources are commonly used in pharmacy practice:
Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook (APF)
• Australian pharmaceutical formulary and handbook: A guide to best practice (25th ed.) - only available in print. It's highly recommended that pharmacy students purchase their own copy as copies can only be used within the Library (i.e., reference material can't be borrowed).
- Australian medicines handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new windowRestricted to Australia and Malaysia Only users. Provides drug information for best use of medicines in Australia.
- AusDI This link opens in a new windowProvides drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information, consumer medicine information leaflets and drug interactions
- MIMS online with drug interactions This link opens in a new windowInformation on prescription and non prescription drugs in Australia as well as drug interactions
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowEvidence based information related to drugs, toxicology, diseases, and alternative medicines.
- Therapeutic guidelines This link opens in a new windowIf you have previously used the eTG app, please use this link to renew your token: https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=https://www.tg.org.au/tokens/
Further resources
The Pharmacy Board of Australia (PBA) recommends the following resources to check for interactions.
- AusDI This link opens in a new window
- MIMS online with drug interactions This link opens in a new window
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window
The following resources also provide a drug interaction checker:
- Australian medicines handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new window
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowEvidence based clinical decision support designed to answer the clinical questions that arie in daily practice
- AMH aged care companion This link opens in a new windowTen concurrent users only ; Restricted to Monash Australia and Malaysia staff and students.
- AMH children's dosing companion This link opens in a new windowTen concurrent users only. Contains drug monographs for children up to 18 years.
- Women's pregnancy and breastfeeding medicines guide : a guide for healthcare professionalsThe Women's Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Medicines Guide (PBMG) is a quick reference guide for healthcare professionals that provides practical and unbiased specialised information on medicine use in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
PCF7: Palliative care formularyThe Pallliative care formulary is available at the Pharmacy Library.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)
These books represent a very small selection of titles we have available in our collection. We encourage you to search for other titles; you may wish to try the following search terms: complementary alternative medicines or traditional medicines or integrative medicines etc. You could also try searching for specific cultural traditions or complementary approaches (e.g. Ayurvedic medicine, Chinese medicine, yoga etc).
Bush Food by ISBN: 1864368160
- AMED : allied and complementary medicine (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowProvides a selection of Journals in complementary medicines, palliative care and allied health.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCore database of medicine, nursing, allied health and pre-clinical sciences literature.
- Natural and alternative treatments (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides analysis of 200 conditions and natural medicines and treatments used to treat them.
- Natural medicines This link opens in a new windowInformation about common herbal and dietary supplements including adverse effects, interactions, safety and effectiveness.
- Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new windowCore database of medicine, nursing, allied health and pre-clinical sciences literature.
These journals represent a small selection of high quality journals focused on CAMs. We subscribe to many more and encourage you to explore further.
- The Australian Acupuncture and Chinese Medicine Association (AACMA)The peak professional organisation for Chinese medicine, acupuncturists, herbalists and traditional remedial massage practitioners in Australia.
- Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNetFind articles and publications on traditional healing and medicines or bush medicines.
- Complementary medicinesThe Therapeutic Goods Administration site provides information on complementary medicines including information on regulations, standards and reforms etc.
- MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and SupplementsFind out about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
The Bush Medicine Garden was launched in 2015 at the Parkville campus. The garden showcases a number of native plants and acknowledges First Nations cultural practices and knowledge systems in the use of flora for healing.
Next time you are on campus take a look at the garden located in front of buildings 403/404.
Some of the plants featured:
- Yellow buttons (Chrysocephalum apiculatum)
- Old man's beard (Clematis microphylla)
- Blue flax lily (Dianella caerulea)