Search for information
Getting started
If you are new to searching, the following resources will help you get started.
The Assignments and research portal contains key library resources to guide you through the searching process.
The Finding and evaluating information module is a good place to start to develop good searching techniques which will save you valuable time. This module covers the following four topics:
- Understanding what information you need - explains common information needs for various types of assignments.
- Where to search - describes the three main places to look for information using library resources.
- How to search - explains the steps involved in developing a good search strategy.
- Evaluating information - explains selecting appropriate sources and understanding the strengths and limitations of sources.
Searching the Library's collection
The following video demonstrates how to use Search to find information in the Library's collection for your research topic.
Title: Using Library Search - Locating a resource using keywords
Running time: 2.44 mins
The Library Search guide provides useful information on how to perform basic and advanced searches to find relevant information for your topic.
The Finding specific resources page on the Library Search guide provides you with instructions on how you can use the Search platform to find specific types of collections such as images, government publications, patents and theses.
Finding current research
If you need to find evidence for clinical decision making, search the literature systematically, or are undertaking a systematic review, the following resources may assist you:
- Evidence based practice (for clinical decision making)
- Systematic searching for a review
- Conducting a systematic review
If you need to find research specific to pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences, the Databases by Subject webpage has links to key resources for your studies and research.
Database search tips
Boolean operators, wild cards and subject headings can vary across databases. Use the Database search tips sheet for guidance on the different operators for the key biomedical and health databases.
Database search tips - reference guide
How to access your unit readings
If your lecturer has set up a reading list for your unit you can access it from Moodle or from the Library tile in my.monash. Log in and enter your unit code to view your online reading list. Not all units use reading lists.
