Skip to Main Content

Theatre and Performance Studies: Research Methods

Selected resources for drama and theatre studies

Research Methods

Most books about research methodology introduce the reader to a range of existing methods. This page selects resources relevant to music and interdisciplinary studies and some books only have a chapter, or a case study, that applies to theatre, performance or creative practice. If you are seeking a particular kind of research methodology, please contact your learning skills adviser or your librarian.

SAGE research methods online 
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can browse by methods to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it is best to use music as a keyword in order to find applications to music research. You can also use the Methods Map to read definitions of key terminology, or to find narrower definitions for qualitative data analysis or research design.

The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods includes the following entry:
Music in Qualitative Research 

The SAGE Handbook of Digital Dissertations and Theses  includes the following chapter:
Practice-as-Research in Music Performance 

Methodology of Music Research is a series published by Peter Lang in Switzerland.

Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic. You can search simultaneously across all handbooks by keywords. Methodologies are discussed in the following selectied chapters:

Toward a Methodology for Research into the Revival of Musical Life after War, Natural Disaster, Bans on All Music, or Neglect  
by Margaret Kartomi from The Oxford handbook of music revival (2014)
Music-Making As Data: Collection and Analysis  
by Kristen Pellegrino from The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education (2014)
Creating a Framework for Music Making and Leisure: Max Kaplan Leads the Way
by Marie McCarthy from the Oxford handbook of music making and leisure (2017)
Introduction: Situating Country Music Studies
by Travis D. Stimeling from The Oxford handbook of country music studies (2017)