Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Multimedia, Documentaries & Streaming Video
Monash University Library has online and physical collections of films, documentaries, TV shows, music, and more for you to use in your study and research.
Monash Library Music and Multimedia Collection
The Music and Multimedia Collection contains information in a range of formats: music scores, CDs, vinyl record, 78rpm, cassette tape, DVDs, video tapes, CD-ROMs, microfilms, microfiche and kits. Collection items can be viewed and listened to in the library, using the multimedia equipment available, or borrowed for study or home use.
DVDs and music items are located on Level 1 of the Matheson Library, and can be most easily found by using Monash Library Search to find a Call Number:
Using video content from the web
NOTE: While there is lots of streaming content freely available on the web, not all of it will be of appropriate academic quality to use in an assessment. Evaluate your resources carefully!
Streaming Documentaries & Film Collections
Thousands of major motion pictures, genre films, documentaries and recorded interviews are available in our streaming collections below.
Alexander Street Press Videos (ASP)
Alexander Street publishes curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
BBC Video Collection
Alexander Street’s BBC Video Collection combines 700 of our most-viewed BBC films. Viewers can explore relevant, timely documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more.
Meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase meaningful documentaries of social, political and cultural importance by some of the world’s top international filmmakers.
Informit Edu TV
With over 30,000 programs and growing, Informit EduTV provides content across a range of learning areas. As well as documentaries, Informit EduTV includes programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Make sure to check out our tips for creating clips from streaming video.
For more streaming video, head to the Multimedia Resources Guide.
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window This portal provides access to Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform (Select the My collections dropdown, and then one or more collections). Video, audio, and text collections, covering a wide variety of subject matters, are included. In addition to secondary sources, the portal also contains significant primary source material. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.
Berliner Philharmoniker digital concert hall This link opens in a new window The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Database includes live streams, concerts, movies and interviews.
Dance in video This link opens in a new window Searchable database containing streaming video files covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Digital theatre plus This link opens in a new window Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Access is to subscribed content only.
Bloomsbury drama online This link opens in a new window Drama Online is a fast-growing study resource which features playtexts, audio plays, streaming video, and scholarly books from leading theatre publishers such as Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber. The focus is on the most studied, performed and critically acclaimed plays from the works of Aeschylus to works of the present day. Collections available include; Globe on screen; Stage on screen; Acting masterclass with Patsy Rodenburg; Maxine Peake's Hamlet; Critical studies and performance practice (ebooks); Hollow Crown (filmed performances of Shakespeare); Nick Hern streaming videos, Oberon books collection, and more.
Ethnographic video online This link opens in a new window This database is is intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. It includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, etc.
medici.tv This link opens in a new window medici.tv is a leading classical music library, offering streaming video access to the best of classical music. More than 150 live events are broadcast each year, in addition to 1,000s of programs, in partnership with the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. The programs are available on demand and include concerts, archives, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films and artist profiles.
Opera in video This link opens in a new window See: Music online. Opera in video
Routledge performance archive This link opens in a new window The Routledge Performance Archive provides exclusive access to a continually expanding range of streamed video and audio footage from performance practitioners past and present paired with relevant critical commentary. The archive contains interviews with key figures in performance history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist performance trainers from around the world; footage direct from legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries, and specially commissioned contextual essays accompanying each entry.
Theatre in video This link opens in a new window Theatre in Video brings together hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video. These definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, have been licensed from a wide range of copyright holders. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Photo & Image Resources
Monash University Library has photo and image resources free for use to staff and students.
The Monash Digital Images Library Guide is an excellent resource that provides links to multiple image databases and resources to help you find, cite and use digital images in your scholarly work.