Academic sourcesUsing Google ScholarGoogle tips
This is the "Home" page of the "German Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German Studies   Tags: german, language  

Guide to German Studies information resources in the Monash University iLibrary
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/german-studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guten Tag

The library has one of the major German studies collections in Australia. The library has materials in both the English and German languages. Printed material is kept in the Matheson Library and other branch libraries. Videos, DVDs, microforms and music CDs are kept in the Matheson Library Music and Multimedia Collection. Older material is kept in the Rare Books Collection.

Related library guides: Comparative literature and cultural studies; European Studies

 

People to talk with

Contact librarians:

Learning skills advisors (English language only):

 

The Library has more than you think!

Remember the Library has much more than study books. For example, the Music and Multimedia Collection has many items relevant to your course (such as documentaries), but also films and music you can take home and relax with.

The Library also has a large collection of recreational reading; novels, short stories, etc.

The Library is your portal to the information multiverse. Indeed, if the Library does not have it, then we will find it for you.

 

Borrowing from other Libraries

The CAVAL Reciprocal Borrowing Program is a scheme whereby staff and students of participating academic libraries are able to borrow material from other participating Victorian academic libraries.

How do you obtain a CAVAL card?

In order to particpate you must first register in the Reciprocal Borrowing Program. This must be done at Matheson Library, Loans counter. You will be given a CAVAL card which is valid until the last date shown on the card.

If you wish to enrol at a library after the date shown has passed, you must have your CAVAL card re-authorised. Simply take it back to Matheson Library, Loans counter and provided you are still in good standing, your card will be re-authorised. You may do this as often as is necessary throughout the year.

How do you enrol at another library?

Proceed to a service desk with your current CAVAL card and your home institution ID card. The staff will enrol you on the library system and attach a barcode label to your CAVAL card. Check the detailed information available at your home library for any special requirements before visiting another library. If you need assistance with using an unfamiliar library ask at the service desk.

Be sure you understand and observe the regulations at any library from which you borrow. Some restrictions apply to certain services and collections; chcek before you visit. Return all materials by the due date to the library from which you have borrowed them.

How to search other libraries?

  • Libraries and library catalogues you can search for individual library catalogue and locate the item.
  • Libraries Australia provides access to the national database of material held in Australian libraries. You can search for any item and locate which library in Australia holds it.
  • LibraryLink Victoria search the combined catalogues of Victorian public libraries, eight academic libraries and a selection of state libraries, including the State Library of Victoria
 

German Literary and Cultural Studies

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe's Faust. Liebig card, late 19th century/early 20th century. Image courtesy of the Bridgeman Education database.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip