German Studies: Home

Using this guide

This guide introduces you to physical and online information, resources and tools. They have all been carefully selected to help you study or research German at Monash. 

The guide will also help you to develop your skills in finding useful material.

For German Studies, physical materials such as books and other printed publications are mostly held at the Matheson (Clayton) Library. The library has one of the major German studies collections in Australia with materials in both the English and German languages. The Library has much more than just study books. In addition to print material, the Music and Multimedia Collection has many items relevant to your course. The Library also has a large collection of recreational reading: novels, short stories, magazines, and more. Material of special interest or fragile nature is kept in Special Collections.

Key resources in German Studies

• JSTOR
  JSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses.
   
• MLA international bibliography (EBSCOhost) 
  Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

Get help from a librarian

Get help from a librarian when you need support beyond what you can find in this guide. Bookings are available for students, educators, and researchers.

Librarians can help you with a range of tasks including:

• using the Library's collections
• finding and evaluating information
• citing and referencing
• understanding copyright