Skip to Main Content

AGLC4

Dictionaries, encyclopaedias and commentaries

Dictionaries

Online dictionaries

Format

Dictionary Title (online at Date of Retrieval), 'Entry Title' (def number).

Example

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 20 February 2018), 'Default Judgment' (def 1).

Hard copy dictionaries

Format

Dictionary Title (Edition Number ed, YEAR), 'Entry Title' (def number).

Example

Macquarie Dictionary (5th ed, 2009), 'Demise' (def 4).

Tips

  • These examples are for footnotes. Bibliography entries will not require a full stop at the end of the reference.
  • More information can be found in chapter 7.6 of the AGLC4.

Encyclopaedias

Online encyclopaedias

Format

Publisher, Title of Encyclopaedia (online at Date of Retrieval) Title Number Name of Title, 'Chapter Number' Chapter Name' [Paragraph number].

Example

Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 15 February 2018) 2 Administrative Law, '2.3 Access to Information' [2.3.10].

Hard copy encyclopaedias

Format

Publisher, Title of Encyclopaedia, vol number (at Date) Title Number Name of Title, 'Chapter Number' Chapter Name' [Paragraph number].

Example

LexisNexis, Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, vol 15 (at 25 May 2009) 235 Insurance, ‘2 General Principles’ [235-270].

Tips

  • These examples are for footnotes. Bibliography entries will not require a full stop at the end of the reference.
  • More information can be found in chapter 7.7 of the AGLC4.

Commentaries

One author

Format

Publisher, Title (online at Date of Retrieval) Pinpoint.

Example

CCH Australia, Australian Intellectual Property Commentary (online at 20 February 2018) [¶7-000].

Hard copy commentaries

Format

Publisher, Title, vol number (at Most Recent Service Number for Pinpoint or Date) Pinpoint.

Example

Neil J Williams, LexisNexis Butterworths, Civil Procedure: Victoria, vol 1 (at Service 299) [21.01.1].

Tips

  • Commentaries can also be referred to as Looseleafs.
  • If the author is clearly identified, their name should be included.
  • These examples are for footnotes. Bibliography entries will not require a full stop at the end of the reference. Additionally, if an author's name is required, the first name and surname will be inverted in the bibliography.
  • More information can be found in chapter 7.8 of the AGLC4.

Did you find this page helpful?