Archaeology and ancient history: Key resources

Founded in 1885, AJA is published by the Archaeological Institute of America. It is one of the most distinguished and widely distributed peer-reviewed archaeological journals

A peer-reviewed journal from the Antiquity Trust and Durham University focusing on new archaeological research, methods, and issues of international significance.

A series of stand-alone volumes from the Australasian Society for Historical Archaeology.

A leader among peer-reviewed academic journals of the ancient Near East from the American Schools of Oriental Research.

One of the leading international journals for symbolic, social and cognitive archaeology published for the McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research.

The magazine of the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, published from 1930-1995

A journal which delivers scholarly research to a wider audience. Original and informative articles on ancient history, literature, art, archaeology, religion, philosophy, and reception of the ancient world.

Published by the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and focused on the fields of Greek archaeology, art, epigraphy, history, and literature.

Aims to be the premier e-journal for world-wide archaeology offering visualisations, animations, searchable data sets, and interactive mapping.

An interdisciplinary, scholarly forum for current archaeological, historical and geographical research about Israel and its environs published by the Israel Exploration Society and the Institute of Archaeology of the Hebrew University.

A leading international journal in Egyptological research publishing scholarly articles (main articles and brief communications), fieldwork reports, and book reviews.

From the Boston University, this journal includes analyses of archaeological data from excavations, surveys, and laboratory research and articles about archaeological heritage, ethics and the history of archaeology, technical and methodological studies, and book reviews.

First published 1884 as 'Hebraica', the title changed to the 'American Journal of Semitic Languages and Literatures' in 1895 and again in 1942 to the 'Journal of Near Eastern Studies'. Published by the University of Chicago Press.

Publishes material that deals with, amongst others, the social, politicoeconomic and ideological aspects of local or regional production and development, and of social interaction and change in the Mediterranean.

A journal of textual criticism publishing on any subject related to Greco-Roman Antiquity, including ancient history, philosophy and archaeology.

Published by The University of Chicago Press on behalf of The American Schools of Oriental Research. Earlier title was 'The Biblical Archaeologist'.

From by the University of Oxford covering the whole range of archaeology, from Palaeolithic to medieval times of European, Mediterranean and western Asian archaeology.

From the Palestine Exploration Fund concerned with the wider region of the Levant - its history, archaeology (including biblical aspects), art, languages, natural & earth ethnology, geography, natural & earth sciences.

A peer-reviewed international journal publishing on current archaeological investigations in the southern Levant and critical studies related to the history and culture of Near Eastern civilisations. Primary focus is on the biblical and protohistoric periods and includes classical and prehistoric periods.

A leading journal dealing with archaeology on a world-wide multiperiod basis.

A multi-language peer-reviewed journal focusing on papyrology and epigraphy.

Primarily German journal with some English from the Austrian Academy of Sciences and University of Vienna. Focuses on Egyptian archaeology and related disciplines.

A non-profit interdisciplinary journal, rooted in archaeological theory and practice, from researchers at the University of Cambridge.

Primarily French journal, with some English, from Archéo-Nil, the society for the study of pre-pharaonic cultures of the Nile Valley.

Includes articles from national and international scholars focusing on all aspects of ancient Egyptian culture and society and published by the Macquarie University.

From the Egyptological Seminar of New York and focusing on all aspects of ancient Egyptian culture from pre-dynasty to the Byzantine era.

Publishing on the history and civilization of Pharaonic, Graeco-Roman, Christian, and Arabic Egypt in French, Dutch, and English since 1925 from the Association Égyptologique Reine Élisabeth.

Leading international journal for Egyptological research since 1914 from the Egypt Exploration Society.

Published in German, English, and French, regarding new discoveries and theories relating to Egyptology, Coptology, and related subjects.

Peer-reviewed journal on all parts of the Roman world from 700 BC to AD 700. Published in several European languages through the University of Michigan.

From Centro studi Luigi Negro and published in English, French and Italian.

Provides a survey of archaeological method and theory, as well as the application of physical and biological sciences in archaeological research. Every aspect of archaeological work is represented, from the discovery process to the ultimate disposition of materials.

The English edition of Der Neue Pauly, published since 1996. The Antiquity section covers Greco-Roman antiquity and more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.

The Classical Tradition section is concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Access to 39 titles relevant to classic studies as part of the Cambridge companion series.

1995-present

Also available in print

A useful resource for an overview of subjects of the ancient Mediterranean world. It contains entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE, extending to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.

2012. Expanded edition of Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. Rev. ed. c2002.

2001. Also available in print.

2001

1995 publication

Also available in print

2002 publication

7 vols, 1972-1992

Also available in print

2012 publication

1995 publication

Produced by the Oriental Institute at Chicago University. This is an excellent academic website which is updated regularly and organises resources into logical subject categories.

University of Kentucky Classics website. Provides excellent links to a range of classics resources.

Digital Egypt for Universities is a learning tool developed at University College London.Includes chronology; maps; detailed index and academic sources.

Provides electronic access to texts and images of approximately 1400 papyri from Ancient Egypt.

This website specialises in resources on HATTI, homeland of the Hittites, one of the most powerful near-eastern empires of the second millennium B.C.

Over two years in the making this vast digital collection portal opens up over three million objects to the public, including Egyptian scarabs, coins and cuneiform tablets. Fully searchable.

Created by Adam Philippidis. It has not been updated since 2002, however many links are still valid.

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It is fully searchable

Provided by the Archaeological Institute of America. It includes indexes to archaeological web sites and the home pages of archaeological organizations and journals.

ASOR’s Cultural Heritage Initiatives is a cooperative agreement between ASOR and the U.S. Department of State that is designed to document, protect, and preserve the cultural heritage of war-torn Syria and northern Iraq.

This site details the current work at the site of Tell el-Amarna, which was the capital built under the Pharaoh Akhenaten.

Dedicated to research on the geology and topography of the Giza plateau, the construction and function of the Sphinx, the Great Pyramids, the associate tombs and temples, and the Old Kingdom town in the vicinity.

This site gives details of the ongoing mission at the site of Ebla under Paolo Matthiae.

This website is published by the Institute of Nautical Archaeology and gives information about the ongoing work at the site of the Uluburun Shipwreck including site plans and publications.

The German work at the site of Uruk can be found at this website (most of it is in German but there are many pictures). There are many 3D reconstructions of the site which could be helpful for students in visualising the site.

A further site is the Uruk Visualisation Project, it is a scientific reconstruction of the site of Uruk.