Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre and Performance studies: Home

Selected resources for drama and theatre studies

Current Database Trials

On the Boards TV has been set up and is available from the library guides webpage until  11.05.2020
Please test and fill in a web-based evaluation form: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/subject-databases/trials

Recent Books Online

Welcome

Welcome to the Theatre and Performance library guide                                                                                           

Freely available resources during COVID-19 restrictions include:

COVID-19 Free to Access
Databases compiled by Monash University library staff.

National Emergency Library
Until the end of the US national emergency

, every borrowable book will be immediately accessible.

Monoskop 
a wiki for the arts, media and humanities, which has digitised some full text of books
 

This  library guide contains selected resources relevant to courses studied within the Centre for Theatre and Performance, as well as providing valuable information about academic learning skills to help you in your studies. 

The Matheson Library (Clayton) has excellent collections of journals, books and multimedia that support study and research in these areas. 

New Databases

Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collection

Includes:

  1. The Tempest:  With Mark Quartley playing Ariel.
  2.  Hamlet: With rising star Papa Essideu in the title role.
  3.  Othello: With the first casting of a black actor as Iago, as well as Othello.
  4.  Richard II: Staring David Tennant in the title role.
 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 The Hollow Crown

Includes:

Series 1Richard II, Henry IV Part 1, Henry IV Part 2, and Henry V. Starring Ben Whishaw, Jeremy Irons and Tom Hiddleston

Series 2 - Henry VI in two parts and Richard III.  Starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Hugh Bonneville, Judi Dench, Michael Gambon, Sally Hawkins, Sophie Okonedo and Tom Sturridge.

 

 

New Streamed Video

The library provides access to many plays online via AustralianPlays.org,  Alexander Street Press, Digital Theatre Plus, Drama Online and Routledge Performance Archive. Recent additions from  Alexander Street Press include The Bacchae and Antigone directed by James Thomas.

WITNESS Performance.Discussion.Community

Deborah Leiser-Moore in M Kaddish for the Children. Photo: Pier Carthew

Witness is a forum for independent critique and debate about the Australian performing arts set up by Alison Croggon and Robert Reid in 2018. Read the reviews for examples of theatre critics placing contemporary performance in its social, aesthetic and historical contexts. For example, Robert Reid reviews M: Kaddish for the Children, a reimagining of Euripides' play, Medea. Watch out for Alison Croggon's new Currency Press book, Remembered Presences: Responses to Theatre.

Contacts

Librarians

Learning skills adviser

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Keep up to date on anything you might need to know about the Library via our Library social media:

Photo: Facebook logo   Photo: Twitter logo   Photo: Instagram logo   Photo: YouTube logo  

Quick Links