Skip to Main Content

Chicago 17th (A) Notes and Bibliography

Audiovisual and music scores

Online streaming video (YouTube, Vimeo, Kanopy etc)

Footnote

Format

Note number. Director/Producer/Performer Full Name, their role, Title of Content: Subtitle (Year), Name of hosting site, format, duration, URL.

Example

1. Beat Kuert, dir., Architects Herzog and de Meuron: Alchemy of Building (2001), Dust and Scratches, Kanopy, online video, 52:04, https://monash.kanopy.com/video/architects-herzog-and-demeuron-alchemy-building-tate-modern-2001.

2. Julian O'Shea, creator, Why Do Trucks Keep Smashing Into This Bridge? Montague St Bridge (2020), YouTube, online video, 7:48, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HR7NivKqfzo.

Subsequent note entry

3. Kuert, Architects Herzog and de Meuron.

4. O'Shea, Why Do Trucks Keep Smashing Into This Bridge?

Bibliography

Format

Director/Producer/Performer Surname, First Name, their role. Title of Content: Subtitle. Year. Name of hosting site. Format, duration. URL.

Example

Kuert, Beat, dir. Architects Herzog and de Meuron: Alchemy of Building. 2001. Dust and Scratches, Kanopy. Online video, 52:04. https://monash.kanopy.com/video/architects-herzog-and-demeuron-alchemy-building-tate-modern-2001.

O'Shea, Julian. Why Do Trucks Keep Smashing Into This Bridge? Montague St Bridge. 2020. YouTube. Online video, 7:48. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HR7NivKqfzo.

Tips

  • When referencing audiovisual sources, you can list the director, the producer or the performer as the person primarily responsible for the content depending on which is most relevant to discussion.
  • Include any other relevant information about the content such as other contributors, the year and location of the production or performance, and any other information to assist readers to locate the source.
  • For online video platforms and downloads, list the service or the file format, along with the duration and the URL.
  • The Chicago Manual of Style does not require access dates for online materials unless there is no publication date.

In the below example, a 35 mm film produced in 1903 has been viewed within a collection of similar items in MPEG format on the US Library of Congress website. The author, firstly, cites the historical artefact; and secondly, provides a reference to the website that hosts the media today. Note that the reference to the years 1898–1906 is part of the collection title.

Footnote

Format

Note number. Director/Producer/Performer Full Name, their role, Title of Content (other relevant information, including the year of production), media, Name of the hosting organisation, Title of Collection: Subtitle, format, duration, URL.

Example

1. A. E. Weed, dir., At the Foot of the Flatiron (American Mutoscope and Biograph Co., 1903), 35 mm film, from Library of Congress, The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898–1906, MPEG video, 2:19, http://www.loc.gov/item/00694378.

Subsequent note entry

2. Weed, At the Foot of the Flatiron.

Bibliography

Format

Director/Producer/Performer Surname, First Name, their role. Title of Content. Other relevant information, Year. Media. Name of the hosting organisation. Title of Collection: Subtitle. Format, Duration. URL.

Example

Weed, A. E., dir. At the Foot of the Flatiron. American Mutoscope and Biograph Co., 1903. 35 mm film. From Library of Congress. The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898–1906. MPEG video, 2:19. http://www.loc.gov/item/00694378.

Media (Blu-ray, DVD, Film etc)

Footnote

Format

Note number. “Title of the Scene,” Title of Production, directed or equivalent by Director/Producer/Performer Full Name (Year of release; Location: Publisher, Year of publication), format.


OR


Note number. Director/Producer/Performer Full Name, their role, Title of Production (Year of release; Location: Publisher, Year of publication), format.

Example

1. “Crop Duster Attack,” North by Northwest, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1959; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000), DVD.


OR


2. Alfonso Cuaróndir, dir., Gravity (2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014), Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.

Subsequent note entry

3. Hitchcock, “Crop Duster Attack”.

4. Cuaróndir, Gravity.

Bibliography

Format

Director/Producer/Performer Surname, First Name, their role. “Title of Scene.” Title of Production. Year of release; Location: Publisher, Year of publication. Format.

Example

Hitchcock, Alfred, dir. “Crop Duster Attack.” North by Northwest. 1959; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000. DVD.

Cuarón, Alfonso, dir. Gravity. 2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014. Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.

Tips

  • When referencing audiovisual material accessed on Blu-ray, DVD, celluloid film or similar include a description of the media or format.
  • To reference an individual part or a specific passage in an audiovisual source (for example, a scene from a film) include the title or a description enclosed within quotation marks.
  • Omit the year of release if it is the same as the year of publication.
  • While a note may begin with the title of a source, bibliography entries begin with the person primarily responsible for the content (i.e. the Director/Producer/Performer).

Television (free-to-air, live stream, on-demand etc)

Footnote

Format

Note number. Producer/Director Full Name, their role, Title of Production, season number, episode number, “Title of Episode,” relevant additional credits, date aired or accessed, on Network/Service, URL (if online).


OR


Note number. Title of Production, season number, episode number, “Title of Episode,” directed/produced/performed by Full Name, date aired or accessed, on Network/Service, URL (if online).

Example

1. Andrew Knight, prod., Jack Irish, season 1, episode 1, “Bad Debts,” directed by Jeffery Walker, aired October 14, 2012, on ABC TV.


OR


2. American Crime Story: The People v. O. J. Simpson, season 1, episode 6, “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia,” directed by Ryan Murphy, written by D. V. DeVincentis, accessed June 10, 2022, on Prime Video, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ARVPCOA/.

Subsequent note entry

3. Knight, “Bad Debts.”

4. Murphy, “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia.”

Bibliography

Format

Producer/Director Surname, First Name, their role. Production Title, season number, episode number, “Title of Episode.” Additional credits. Date aired or accessed on Network/Service. URL (if online).

Example

Knight, Andrew, prod. Jack Irish, season 1, episode 1, “Bad Debts.” Directed by Jeffery Walker. Aired October 14, 2012, on ABC TV.

Murphy, Ryan, dir. American Crime Story: The People v. O. J. Simpson, season 1, episode 6, “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia.” Written by D. V. DeVincentis. Accessed June 10, 2022, on Prime Video. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ARVPCOA/.

Tips

  • For recordings accessed online, if there is no date of production/broadcast/publication provided, include an access date prior to the URL.
  • If the episode does not have a title, refer to it by episode number.
  • Footnotes may list the title or the director/producer first depending on your focus, you can also provide any relevant additional credits such as writers, performers etc.

Audio recordings (LP, CD, MP3, streaming etc)

Footnote

Format

Note number. Composer/Performer Full Name, Title of Recording, other relevant information, Publisher catalogue number, Year, format.


OR


Note number. “Title of Part,” other relevant information, format or Name of the streaming service, track number on Composer/Performer Full Name, Title of Recording, Publisher, Year.

Example

1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Don Giovanni, Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Sir Colin Davis. With Ingvar Wixell, Luigi Roni, Martina Arroyo, Stuart Burrows, Kiri Te Kanawa, et al., recorded May 1973. Philips 422 541-2, 1991, 3 compact discs.

2. Pink Floyd, Atom Heart Mother, originally released in 1970, Capitol CDP 7 463812, 1990, compact disc.

OR

3. “Umbrella,” featuring Jay-Z, MP3 audio, track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad, Island Def Jam, 2007.

4. “Umbrella,” featuring Jay-Z, Spotify, track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad, Island Def Jam, 2007.

Subsequent note entry

1. Mozart, Don Giovanni.

2. Pink Floyd, Atom Heart Mother.

3. Rihanna, “Umbrella.”

Bibliography

Format

Surname, Composer/Performer First Name. Title of content. Other relevant information. Publisher catalogue number, Year, format. Any other references such as the original.


OR


Surname, Composer/Performer First Name, their role. “Title of Part.” Other relevant information. Format or Name of the streaming service. Track number on Composer/Performer Full Name, Title of Recording. Publisher, Year.

Example

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni. Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Sir Colin Davis. With Ingvar Wixell, Luigi Roni, Martina Arroyo, Stuart Burrows, Kiri Te Kanawa, et al. Recorded May 1973. Philips 422 541-2, 1991, 3 compact discs.

Pink Floyd. Atom Heart Mother. Capitol CDP 7 46381 2, 1990, compact disc. Originally released in 1970.

OR

Rihanna [Robin Fenty], vocalist. “Umbrella.” Featuring Jay-Z. MP3 audio. Track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad. Island Def Jam, 2007.

Rihanna [Robin Fenty], vocalist. “Umbrella.” Featuring Jay-Z. Spotify. Track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad. Island Def Jam, 2007.

Tips

  • The composer, the producer or the performer may be listed as the person primarily responsible for a audio recording depending on which is the focus of the media or is most relevant to discussion.
  • Include any relevant additional information about the content such as other contributors, the year and location of the recording and any other references that could assist interested readers locate the source.
  • For online platforms and downloads, list the file format or the name of the streaming service.
  • While a note may begin with the title of a source, bibliography entries begin with the person primarily responsible for the content.

Radio and Podcasts

Footnote

Format

Radio

Note number, Presenter Full Name, “Episode Title,” episode number, Month DD, YYYY aired, in Production Title, Place produced and/or broadcasted: Broadcaster’s Name, URL (if online).

Podcast

First Presenter Full Name and Second Presenter’s Full Name, “Episode Title,” Month DD, YYYY produced, in Production Title, produced by Producer Full Name, podcast, file format, duration, URL.

Example

1. Lynne Malcolm, “The Bilingual Brain,” episode 18, October 21, 2012, in All in the Mind, Sydney: ABC Radio National, https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/allinthemind/the-b-lingual-brain/4315620.

2. Mike Danforth and Ian Chillag, “F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points,” April 21, 2015, in How to Do Everything, produced by Gillian Donovan, podcast, MP3 audio, 18:46, http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510303/how-to-do-everything.

Subsequent note entry


1. Malcolm, "The Bilingual Brain."

2. Danforth and Chillag, “F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points.”

Bibliography

Format

Radio

Presenter Surname, First Name. “Episode Title.” Episode number. Month DD, YYYY aired. In Production Title. Place produced and/or broadcasted: Broadcaster’s Name.

Podcast

First Presenter Surname, First Name and Second Presenter Full Name. “Episode Title.” Month DD, YYYY produced. In Production Title. Produced by Producer Full Name. Podcast, File Format. Duration. URL.

Example

Radio

Malcolm, Lynne. “The Bilingual Brain.” Episode 18. October 21, 2012. In All in the Mind. Sydney: ABC Radio National.

Podcast

Danforth, Mike and Ian Chillag. “F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points.” April 21, 2015. In How to Do Everything. Produced by Gillian Donovan. Podcast, MP3 audio. 18:46. http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510303/how-to-do-everything.

Music scores

Footnote

Format

Note number. Composer Full Name, Title of Score (Location: Publisher, Year), Pages.

Example

1. Claude Debussy, Prélude á l’après-midi d’un faune (Paris: Jobert, 1922), 7.

Subsequent note entry


2. Debussy, Prélude, 9.

Bibliography

Format

Composer Surname, First Name. Title of Score. Location: Publisher, Year of publication.

Example

Debussy, Claude. Prélude á l’après-midi d’un faune. Paris: Jobert, 1922.

Tips

  • Published Music scores are referenced in the same way as published books.