Drug resources
For recent resources, refer to these online Australian resources:
- AusDI This link opens in a new windowA database for Australian healthcare professionals, offering drug information including monographs, company product information, consumer medicine information, product images, and drug interaction links.
- Australian injectable drugs handbookThe handbook offers concise, referenced information for nurses and pharmacists for use at the ward level when preparing medicines for administration by injection.
2 concurrent users only
- Australian medicines handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new windowPractical comparative drug information for quality use of medicines in Australia.
- Havard's nursing guide to drugsProvides information on drug administration, including form, action, use, dose, and interactions, in compliance with TGA and MIMS guidelines. Includes guidance on best practice in drug administration and patient teaching.
- Therapeutic guidelines This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date topics from Therapeutics Guidelines Limited. Includes treatment advice, PBS data, links to references, full text articles, and independent information sources.
If you have previously used the eTG app, please use this link to renew your token: https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=https://www.tg.org.au/tokens/
For relevant websites, refer to the following links:
- NPS MedicineWiseAustralian government sponsored site on medicine use
- The Poisons Standard (The SUSMP)SUSMP is a record of decisions regarding the classification of medicines and chemicals into Schedules for inclusion in relevant legislation of the states and territories
- RXListThe Internet Drug Index. Includes drug descriptions and pill identifier.
- Therapeutic Goods AdministrationA government agency responsible for the regulation of Australia’s medicines. Contains information about medicines. Also includes drug alerts and guidelines.
- Victorian drug statistics handbook patterns of drug use & related harm in Victoria.This research provides data about attitudes, pattern of usage and alcohol and drug-related harm across Victoria.
- World Health Organization (WHO). MedicinesIncludes policies and standards for drugs. Also contains information about complementary, herbal and traditional medicines.
For more information, refer to the following library guides:
- Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical SciencesPharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Library Guide
- Databases by Subject: Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical SciencesComplete listing of databases relating to Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
- AMH children's dosing companion This link opens in a new windowTen concurrent users only
The Children's Dosing Companion contains over 200 drug monographs with evidence-based doses for children up to 18 years of age. It will be updated electronically every six months. - Australian medicines handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new windowAustralian Medicines Handbook's mission is to provide concise practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. The company is independent of both government and the pharmaceutical industry.
- Martindale : the complete drug reference [via Micromedex] This link opens in a new windowMartindale provides reliable, unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines used throughout the world. Based on published information and extensively referenced, Martindale develops as the body of knowledge on existing drugs grows. The most clinically relevant and appropriate information is evaluated and selected from reliable published sources. Includes: summaries for proprietary products from 40 countries; cross-referenced overviews of diseases and drugs used in their treatment, along with key references.
- Merck index online This link opens in a new windowFor over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now it is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry. The Merck Index Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. It is updated regularly with information curated by experts.
- The Poisons Standard (The SUSMP)SUSMP is a record of decisions regarding the classification of medicines and chemicals into Schedules for inclusion in relevant legislation of the states and territories
Australian drug guide: the plain language guide to drugs and medicines of all kinds by
Every year up to 140,000 Australians are rushed to hospital due to medication errors and misunderstandings. So before you take any medication, make sure you know all the facts! The fully revised and updated eighth edition of Australian Drug Guide brings you over 900 pages of up-to-the-minute information that could mean the difference between life and death for you or someone you know. Australian Drug Guide also includes a safety checklist for age, pregnancy, breastfeeding, sport, driving, alcohol, pre-existing conditions and interactions with other medications.
ISBN: 9781863958035Publication Date: 2016
Elsevier's Dictionary of Vitamins and Pharmacochemistry by ISBN: 9780080488790Publication Date: 2006-12-04
