This guide introduces you to physical and online information and resources. For further information on repertoire, methods and performance see Music-Performance.
Music, sound recordings and performances are protected by copyright - for more information on how to use music or get protection for your own music/performance go to Using music in teaching and research.
Music materials such as physical books, scores and audio-visual materials are mostly held at the Matheson Library (Clayton).
Oxford Music Online
Introduces you to the way scholars in the field write about music and the vocabulary which they use. There are comprehensive articles on composers, countries, genres of music e.g. gospel music, hip hop, and musical terms e.g. chaconne, prelude, sonata. Each article has a bibliography listing sources for further study. It also has authoritative lists of composer’s works with publication details. All searches are across The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music in addition to Grove Music Online.
Music Periodicals Database (Proquest)
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals plus full text for over 150 of the indexed journals. The journal articles cover all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. It includes numerous reviews for books, recordings and videos but this interface enables you to exclude reviews when you need to focus on scholarly sources.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)
RILM (Répertoire international de littérature musicale) Abstracts is a comprehensive database of citations, abstracts and subject indexing of core music journals from the early 1800s through to the present. Also included are music-related articles published in conference proceedings, articles in Festschriften celebrating music scholars, and articles in anniversary volumes published in honour of musicians, composers and institutions. Coverage includes musicology and ethnomusicology, theory, analysis and composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, librarianship, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy and iconography, RILM is updated every month.
Get help from a librarian when you need support beyond what you can find in this guide. Bookings are available for students, educators, and researchers.
Librarians can help you with a range of tasks including:
Contact our Copyright Adviser for inquiries relating to copyright. Email: University.Copyright@monash.edu. Further information on copyright is at the following links: