Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thesis databases and repositories
Includes records for over 8 million theses from many countries in many language, and links full text where available. Includes Australian theses.
American doctoral dissertations (EBSCOhost)
American Doctoral Dissertations, is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. It incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select American colleges and universities. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a broad span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
DART-Europe : e-theses portal
Searchable database of research theses held in European repositories. Open access, free and publicly available. The portal does not store theses, but provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis it lists.
EThOS : Electronic Theses Online System
Most theses are available to download or can be requested to be digitisated. Users need to register. For theses that incur a fee, eligible users
can place a document delivery request. The EthOs number should be added to the Notes field of the document delivery request.
Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland
See: ProQuest dissertations & theses global
NDLTD (Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations)
Includes links to university and institutional repositories that include theses and dissertations in full text from over 160 member institutions from countries (including the US, South America, China, UK, Singapore and South Africa.)
Universal Index of Doctoral Dissertations in Progress - freely accessible database of international doctoral dissertations in progress.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Covers North American masters and doctoral theses and a small number of theses from other countries. Includes theses from 1861 to present. Full text in available for theses added since 1997. Abstracts are included for all theses since 1980. Abstracts from prior years are only available in the paper version Dissertation Abstracts International (subscription is no longer current).
NUS theses collection (Informit)
Bibliographic database that indexes theses and academic exercises submitted to the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions. Titles in Chinese are excluded. Ceased updating in Sept. 2007.
Includes theses awarded overseas but held by Australian institutions, as well as doctoral, masters and some honours theses from all Australian and New Zealand universities and others higher degree institutions. To search for theses use the Advanced search and either include "thesis" as a keyword or limit your result to format = thesis.
Locating non-Monash theses
There are various online resources you can check:
How to obtain a thesis not held by Monash University
Theses from other universities are sometimes available for Interlibrary loan through the Document delivery service, or it may be possible to order a copy either for the library collection or for your own use.
- Check first for open access. Check Trove (Australia/New Zealand) and/or sources listed in International theses
- Place a document delivery request . Postgraduates may be asked to obtain approval from supervisor or contact librarian.
- If you would like to include in the library's collection, request via your academic supervisor or contact librarian